Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 10:40:13
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Dear Dakka,
I have tried to search and understand this situation and I don't totally get it.
Please excuse the random models ive used for the example photo
In photo A , my DP is facing 2 units - He didn't use his wings in the movement phase and I declare my intent to charge the rear unit. Since he is a jump unit he can fly over the front unit (unit a) and assault the 2nd unit (unit b).
Now in photo B - he is in combat with unit B - but he is also in base contact with unit A - can he engage them both in multiple combat? If not, why and under what circumstance can he?
I hope my question makes sense.
Thanks
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/02/03 10:42:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 10:42:44
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The rules for charging specifically forbid you from moving into base contact with a unit that you aren't assaulting.
So if the charge was declared against unit B, you can't also move into base contact with unit A.
You also can't declare a disordered charge with a unit of a single model, since the first model can only move onto the Primary target. It's only if that Primary charge is successful that models can move onto the secondary target. A single-model unit can only ever charge a single enemy unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/03 10:44:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 10:51:56
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
insaniak wrote:The rules for charging specifically forbid you from moving into base contact with a unit that you aren't assaulting.
So if the charge was declared against unit B, you can't also move into base contact with unit A.
You also can't declare a disordered charge with a unit of a single model, since the first model can only move onto the Primary target. It's only if that Primary charge is successful that models can move onto the secondary target. A single-model unit can only ever charge a single enemy unit.
Hi Insaniak,
Thanks for the quick response - so does that mean I can't assault unit b? Or that I can and unit A simply is unaffected? Even though unit A is within in base to base?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 11:01:03
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Hey there insaniak, can you provide a page number or ref to why a single model cannot charge 2 units if it's able to get into b2b
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/03 11:02:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 212117/02/03 12:21:45
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
mr2600 wrote:Thanks for the quick response - so does that mean I can't assault unit b? Or that I can and unit A simply is unaffected? Even though unit A is within in base to base?
If he can't move into base contact with unit B without also basing unit A, he would be unable to charge, as the rules for charging forbid you from moving into base contact with a unit you are not assaulting, and he can't assault both units.
Formosa wrote:Hey there insaniak, can you provide a page number or ref to why a single model cannot charge 2 units if it's able to get into b2b
It's in the rules for Multiple Assaults on page 27 and 28.
You declare primary and secondary targets. The first charger is only given permission to move into contact with the Primary target, and if he can't do so the charge fails. You can only move into contact with the Secondary target if a charging model can not get into base contact with the Primary... and since the first model has to get into base contact with the Primary target, this is impossible.
What I also just realised from this is that under these rules, it's actually illegal for any model to move into base contact with both units in a Multiple Assault.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 12:27:36
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Formosa wrote:Hey there insaniak, can you provide a page number or ref to why a single model cannot charge 2 units if it's able to get into b2b
Just read the rules for multi-charging. Its very clear that multi-charges are only executed by models that can't get into contact with the primary assault target which is impossible for the first model in the charge to do since they have to make contact with the primary assault target.
And back to the topic at hand yes you can charge unit b but you can only move to somewhere that you are not also in b2b with a unit you aren't in combat with so the picture you have is illegal and you'd have to go to the side of unit b to assault them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 13:43:58
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
You can't charge through models, either. In fact, from my extensive knowledge of cock-blocking beast packs, you can never move through models, especially in the assault phase. Being an FMC/JMC doesn't change this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 13:50:21
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The fmc used its wings in assault to move over
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 13:55:08
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Scipio Africanus wrote:You can't charge through models, either. In fact, from my extensive knowledge of cock-blocking beast packs, you can never move through models, especially in the assault phase. Being an FMC/JMC doesn't change this.
You are right that FMC and jump/jet units can't assault through units
That's why they move over them instead
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/03 13:55:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 14:01:19
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
CrownAxe wrote: Scipio Africanus wrote:You can't charge through models, either. In fact, from my extensive knowledge of cock-blocking beast packs, you can never move through models, especially in the assault phase. Being an FMC/JMC doesn't change this.
You are right that FMC and jump/jet units can't assault through units
That's why they move over them instead
Jet units cannot move over another unit in the assault phase, unless they thrust move; they're infantry in the assault phase when charging - they can only be JPI if thrusting or moving as such with the required penalties in the movement phase.
You may be right about FMC/JMC though, I don't know. I thought you just got HoW and Fleet equivalent if you charged with jump packs.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 14:05:56
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Scipio Africanus wrote: CrownAxe wrote: Scipio Africanus wrote:You can't charge through models, either. In fact, from my extensive knowledge of cock-blocking beast packs, you can never move through models, especially in the assault phase. Being an FMC/JMC doesn't change this.
You are right that FMC and jump/jet units can't assault through units
That's why they move over them instead
Jet units cannot move over another unit in the assault phase, unless they thrust move; they're infantry in the assault phase when charging - they can only be JPI if thrusting or moving as such with the required penalties in the movement phase.
You may be right about FMC/JMC though, I don't know. I thought you just got HoW and Fleet equivalent if you charged with jump packs.
by Jet I was referring to jetbikes as well which definitely can assault over units
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 14:07:26
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
CrownAxe wrote: Scipio Africanus wrote: CrownAxe wrote: Scipio Africanus wrote:You can't charge through models, either. In fact, from my extensive knowledge of cock-blocking beast packs, you can never move through models, especially in the assault phase. Being an FMC/JMC doesn't change this.
You are right that FMC and jump/jet units can't assault through units
That's why they move over them instead
Jet units cannot move over another unit in the assault phase, unless they thrust move; they're infantry in the assault phase when charging - they can only be JPI if thrusting or moving as such with the required penalties in the movement phase.
You may be right about FMC/JMC though, I don't know. I thought you just got HoW and Fleet equivalent if you charged with jump packs.
by Jet I was referring to jetbikes as well which definitely can assault over units
D'oh. You cna tell I'm a Tau player.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 17:52:14
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Ya your picture is pretty straight forward. The daemon prince cannot move over to charge the unit in the back because he must remain one inch from the unit he didn't charge. If he was on the side he can charge the second unit as long as he stays away from the non charge unit. He ( the daemon prince) by himself can never charge two separate units.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 18:14:32
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
He doesn't have to remain one inch away as he has declared a charge. That restriction is lifted. He just can't move into base-to-base with more than one model, he has to go on a direct route closest-to-closest.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 22:17:08
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks again for all the great feed back.
So the part that I struggle with is:
"he must use the most direct route" - but that direct route ends him up in b2b with a second unit.
Does that mean that I can instead move him to the side? Which rule over rides which rule?
Which is more important - taking the shortest route - or not being in b2b with a second unit?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/03 22:17:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 22:19:27
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The shortest route has to follow the rules on moving. You cannot end up in base to base, so the shortest route cannot end up with the model in base.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 22:20:00
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Both. Just like you're not forced to charge through impassable terrain - since that move is illegal you go to where it is legal as long as you have the distance.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 23:05:47
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
mr2600 wrote:"he must use the most direct route" - but that direct route ends him up in b2b with a second unit.
...which means that isn't a direct route into the combat... because you can't get there as it would be an illegal move.
So the answer to this:
Which is more important - taking the shortest route - or not being in b2b with a second unit?
...is 'both'. The most directroute is one that is a legal move, which means not leaving you in an illegal end position.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/03 23:06:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 01:20:59
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
and if you follow the above and still hit 2 units (say a trygon base) then what happens, and dont say its not possible because the shortest route etc CAN end up taking you into 2 units, the only question is, if it does, do you assault both
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 01:23:20
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, it *can't* because it is against the rules.
Just like you can't end up on top of your models, you can't end up on top of impassable terrain, you can't end up in base contact with a second unit.
The 'shortest' means the 'shortest legal' route.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 01:24:58
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Formosa wrote:and if you follow the above and still hit 2 units (say a trygon base) then what happens, and dont say its not possible because the shortest route etc CAN end up taking you into 2 units, the only question is, if it does, do you assault both
It's not possible. It doesn't say "Shortest route" it says "Shortest route possible", which is previously defined as "as measured by the shortest route possible, going around ... enemy models in other units." If you made base contact with a different unit, that wasn't the Shortest Route Possible as defined in the book, because the Shortest Route Possible goes around other units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 01:40:49
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Formosa wrote:and if you follow the above and still hit 2 units (say a trygon base) then what happens, and dont say its not possible because the shortest route etc CAN end up taking you into 2 units, the only question is, if it does, do you assault both
The shortest route can not take you into two units, because you can't legally end your movement there.
If I try to go to Dublin, and I take a low road that runs me straight into a lake and that's as far as I get, that wasn't a route to Dublin... it was a route to the lake. If the high road is longer, but actually gets me to Dublin, then that's the shortest route to Dublin.
This is no different. You are forbidden from moving into base contact with a unit you are not charging. So if the shortest path from your starting point to the enemy unit results in you being in base contact with another unit, that isn't the shortest route into base contact with your target, because you're forbidden from finishing that movement; that route doesn't get you to your target. Ergo, it isn't the shortest route to that target.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 01:41:47
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
are you people actually saying you have never seen or been in a situation where this could happen? I find that very hard to believe, its not impossible, it may not be in the confine of the rules but its not impossible.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 01:42:38
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Formosa wrote:and if you follow the above and still hit 2 units (say a trygon base) then what happens, and dont say its not possible because the shortest route etc CAN end up taking you into 2 units, the only question is, if it does, do you assault both
It may be physically possible but it is also completely illegal according to the rules.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 01:51:38
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Formosa wrote:are you people actually saying you have never seen or been in a situation where this could happen? I find that very hard to believe, its not impossible, it may not be in the confine of the rules but its not impossible.
I think you'll find that if the rules explicitly prohibit the thing you are trying to do then it is, in fact, impossible to do. At least impossible to do without breaking the rules, which would be cheating.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 02:02:23
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Formosa wrote:are you people actually saying you have never seen or been in a situation where this could happen?
No, we're saying that when this situation arises, the shortest route into the combat is the one that gets you there without breaking any rules.
Yes, absolutely it's not impossible for two units to be close enough together that a particular route into base combat with one unit would result in you being in contact with the other. The point is simply that doing so would be illegal - you have to move into base contact by a route that doesnt result in you contacting another unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 10:13:39
Subject: IC/MC and charging multiple units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Formosa wrote:are you people actually saying you have never seen or been in a situation where this could happen? I find that very hard to believe, its not impossible, it may not be in the confine of the rules but its not impossible.
In, it is not possible. The shortest route must be the one that doesn't break any rules. If you move into b2b with two units, that is an illegal move.
|
|
 |
 |
|