Switch Theme:

Artificer hull (twice?)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Implacable Skitarii





This may be a stupid question, but I have an inquiry about artificer hulls from IA1SE.

Artificer hull (wargear) increases the hull points of a vehicle. There is a tag line in the rules that says "...to a maximum of 5." Considering there not a single vehicle in the book with greater than 3 hull points, would this mean it could be taken twice? If not, why mention a cap of 5?

I do know the super heavies have been FAQ'd to use hull points and have more than 3 . But at the time of publication they used structure points. They can't take artificer hull anyway.

   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Land Raiders and Battlewagons have 4.
There's no such thing as a 3 point limit.
   
Made in us
Implacable Skitarii





Neither of those are in imperial armor one (second edition). Also neither can take the artificer hull wargear.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Future Proofing? (preemptively putting in a restriction in case they decided they wanted to use the rule later without having to change it)
   
Made in us
Implacable Skitarii





Really, you think? I mean, even then, it would take a vehicle having 5 already to make a 5 cap necessary. (As vehicles with 4 could take it withought issue, and even then the cap at 5 implies it could otherwise be taken again)
And I don't see a 5hp vehicle coming anytime soon. Also, it's only available to leman russes who have 3.

Wouldn't being able to take it twice be more likely? Or am I just hoping.
   
Made in no
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Norway (Oslo)

There's that FW landraider with 5 hullpoints aswell

Waagh like a bawz

-
Kaptin Goldteef's waagh! 16250 points 45/18/3 (W/L/D) 7th Ed

6250 points 9/3/1 (W/L/D) sixth-ed
Dark elves: 2350points 3/0/0 (W/L/D)
3400 points 19/6/0 (W/L/D) 8' armybook
Wood Elves 2600 points, 6/4/0 (W/L/D)

 
   
Made in us
Implacable Skitarii





Also not in the book or eligible for this price of wargear

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/03 19:06:34


 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






I do not have that book but how is it exactly worded for the the wargear and the purchasing of said wargear?


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Implacable Skitarii





In wargear:
"Artificer Hull
A vehicle fitted with an artificer hull gains an additional hull point to a maximum of 5."

Under command tank it says:
"The model may take any of the following:
...
Artificer Hull +20points
...
..."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/03 19:31:50


 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Well with that even if you could take multiple it wouldn't stack the way its worded anyway.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Implacable Skitarii





Why wouldn't "gains an additional hull point" stack?
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






"A vehicle fitted with an artificer hull gains an additional hull point to a maximum of 5"

is the rhino fitted with 1 artificer hull? yes > 1 additional hull point.

is the rhino fitted with 2 artificer hull? yes > 1 additional hull point.

basicly if a vehicle has an artificer hull it gains 1, not an artificer gives 1 hull to a vehicle.

Its the same reason why you cant give a devil fish multiple disruption pods to get a 2+ cover save at all time.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/03 19:47:40


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Implacable Skitarii





Ok I can see your point. I guess my next question is; if that is how it was intended to be interpreted, why put the 5hp cap in the description?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

For the same reason that Spore Mines and Vibro Cannons have a specified strength cap, despite not being able to reach it. FW (or GW) may release something that can bump hull points up. If so, a HP4 model would not benefit from both.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: