If I have two multi wound models (same unit) in Close combat, and both are in base contact with the attacking unit. Can I choose to change which unit is having wounds allocated to it in different assault phases?
I tried to do this recently, and several more experienced players told me this is not how it is done, that I have to allocate wounds to the same model as long as that assault continues. However, I read the rules in the
BRB page 25:
A Wound must be allocated to an enemy model in base contact with a model attacking at that Initiative step. If there is more than one eligible candidate, the player controlling the models being attacked chooses which model it is allocated to.
and
Once a model has a Wound allocated to it, you must continue to allocate Wounds to it until it is either removed as a casualty or the Wound pool is empty.
<- This happens at the end of every initiative step.
As I read this, it is clear that each initiative step, a new model (in base contact) can be chosen by the controlling player to allocate wounds to. I don't think this is ambiguous at all, and I've been reviewing the
FAQ's looking for where they got the idea that this wasn't possible. Their way that a unit that has wounds allocated to it must continue to receive wound allocations no matter how many turns or initiative steps would work, but that isn't what the rules say, right?
The exact scenario was a unit of 2 Canoptek Wraiths charged my unit of 2 Carnifexes. Their charge only brought them into base contact with 1 carnifex who had suffered 2 wounds in the shooting phase. Since the wraiths reduced my initiative to 1, they attacked first, and did another unsaved wound to my Carnifex (1 wound left). At initiative step 1 my Fexes piled in (now both in base contact). Both Fexes whiffed on their attacks. In my turn, in the assault phase, the Wraiths attacked 1st at initiative 2, and did 1 rend. I tried to allocate that wound to my Carnifex that still had 4 wounds remaining. Because both Carnifexes were in base contact, I should have been able to do that right? They told me that my wounded carnifex having been allocated a wound in the previous turn had to continue to receive wound allocations until he was dead. We consulted the rules, and my opponent insisted that they supported his position. I did not agree, but let him have it based on an impartial player supporting his position.