Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 21:49:00
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Can a Farseer on a jetbike, or foot, join a Wraithknight? I know Riptides be joined by ICs. Can Spiritseers/Farseers cast powers from inside Waveserpents or is that a 5th ed holdover? I know shooting attacks definitely are a  but what about blessings? I think that is all the chicanery I can remember from my game last night. I was fairly sure the answer to all of the above is no. Thanks.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/02/04 21:49:37
Las Vegas Open Head Judge
I'm sorry if it hurts your feelings or pride, but your credentials matter. Even on the internet.
"If you do not have the knowledge, you do not have the right to the opinion." -Plato
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 21:52:46
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Kelne
|
No. You may only join a riptide because it's not always a unit of a single model. A wraithknight/lord is .
No.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 21:57:40
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
B0B MaRlEy wrote:No. You may only join a riptide because it's not always a unit of a single model. A wraithknight/lord is .
No.
Ok good, I got those right. Thanks!
|
Las Vegas Open Head Judge
I'm sorry if it hurts your feelings or pride, but your credentials matter. Even on the internet.
"If you do not have the knowledge, you do not have the right to the opinion." -Plato
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 22:04:27
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
To be more precise, psykers can cast blessings from inside transports, however, they are limited to who can be targeted.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 10:06:29
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:To be more precise, psykers can cast blessings from inside transports, however, they are limited to who can be targeted.
Oh, how so? Is it that they can only bless themselves, their unit, or the transport? Or can they bless anything within range of the hull (which came up last night)? Is that in the brb?
|
Las Vegas Open Head Judge
I'm sorry if it hurts your feelings or pride, but your credentials matter. Even on the internet.
"If you do not have the knowledge, you do not have the right to the opinion." -Plato
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 22:07:41
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
BRB, page 67, under declare target.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 22:08:09
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
OverwatchCNC wrote: Happyjew wrote:To be more precise, psykers can cast blessings from inside transports, however, they are limited to who can be targeted.
Oh, how so? Is it that they can only bless themselves, their unit, or the transport? Or can they bless anything within range of the hull (which came up last night)? Is that in the brb?
I think you can only cast what you have LOS to unless stated otherwise. So the unit inside or perhaps the transport?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 22:37:07
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Excellent, thank you for the citation, I will look it up when I get home.
|
Las Vegas Open Head Judge
I'm sorry if it hurts your feelings or pride, but your credentials matter. Even on the internet.
"If you do not have the knowledge, you do not have the right to the opinion." -Plato
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 09:37:24
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
Happyjew wrote:To be more precise, psykers can cast blessings from inside transports, however, they are limited to who can be targeted.
I think psykers can cast beam type psychic powers as well when in transports. Under page 69, beam type mentioned that beams can hit models even if the psyker does not have line of sight. Same too for maelstrom and nova types.
Also, witchfire on page 69 mentions that fire points can be used by the psyker for targetting.
So in summary,
1) line of sight for psykers in transport is himself, the unit embarked and the vehicle. (for blessings and malediction, but I can't imagine malediction on own forces)
2) Witchfire can be fired from fire points
3) Beam, maelstrom and nova does not require line of sight so can be fired at opponent from the vehicle.
Have I got it right?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/05 09:38:32
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 10:18:54
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
No.
Bolded text, second paragraph from the top on the right of page 78. No fire point, no firing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 23:25:36
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Using Inks and Washes
St. George, Utah
|
Beams and novas and what not can hit units it doesn't have line of sight to, but you still need line of sight for targetting. This means if you shot, say, Doombolt at a squad of guys where half were hidden behind a wall and one was out front of it, you could do it and blow up the guys behind the wall, assuming the line you drew to the guy you could see went over them.
If you have no fire points, you cannot draw line of sight.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/06 17:34:14
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
I see what you mean. Thanks for the detailed explanation SRSFACE.
Still, it mentions "unless otherwise stated". Doesn't that mean maelstrom and nova, on page 69, are the exceptions?
The wording says "a maelstrom power automatically targets and hits all units, within maximum range, regardless of line of sight"
I have no vested interest since neither of my armies have psykers. But in a game with psykers I'd like to know what they can and cannot do.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/06 17:38:42
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/06 21:51:11
Subject: Can't get to my books so I have a few dumb Eldar questions.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
An embarked unit in a vehicle with no Fire Points simply cannot fire, LoS or otherwise.
I don't see any reason why you couldn't Nova or Maelstrom without LoS if you're outside a vehicle, and if you're inside a vehicle without fire points, it's not the lack of LoS preventing you from firing.
|
|
 |
 |
|