Looking at the rules for deep striking within an icon
If the first model of a friendly unit arriving by deep strike is placed within 6" of at least one model with an icon
then the unit doesn't scatter etc...
I'm confused as to whether or not the whole model has to placed within 6"
I could see it either way. Like I'm I'm deepstriking a 60mm base, does the whole base have to be within 6" or is the fact that part of the model is within 6" count as being withing 6"?
Check Unit Coherency for reference:
Pg 3 from the
BRB
every model in a unit must be within 2" of at least one other model in the same unit.
Unfortunately this is not physically possible for 60mm based units and units that contain oval bases (Like the riptide)
So this leaves me to believe that if a soul grinder's toe is within 6" of a model with an icon then the grinder doesn't scatter (or scatters appropriately depending on its alignment).