Switch Theme:

More than 1 intervening unit ?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lurking Gaunt





Hello,

Long time lurker but have a question that I haven't been able to find a clear answer on unless I am just overlooking it.
I have also searched the forums and haven't found a post here, so I apologize if this has been asked before.

In regards to shooting through intervening units shot at get a 5+ cover save.

The rules word it as a "third unit" so you have unit 1 shooting at unit 2, but unit 3 is between them.

So what happens if there is more than one intervening unit? Is it still just a 5+ cover save or is LoS blocked?

Say unit 1, is shooting at unit 2, but both units 3 and 4 are inbetween - both in a situation to be considered intervening?

I would think LoS is then blocked as the rules just mention a third unit intervening, but as many things in the 40K rules, it's not cut and dry.
   
Made in nz
Heroic Senior Officer




New Zealand

Maybe third means, your unit, their unit and the unit in between? means 3 units all up the third being the one giving cover.

Its a strait up 5+ no matter what anyway im sure.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/07 00:32:20


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

LoS is only blocked if it is actually physically blocked. So get down and look.

The saves don't stack, so one or ten intervening units makes no difference as long as you still have LoS.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

In this situation it grants two different cover saves, both of 5+, and the model uses the best one available.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt





JinxDragon wrote:
In this situation it grants two different cover saves, both of 5+, and the model uses the best one available.


This makes sense to me, and compared to the rules in the book.

I had hoped for something else though. I am a Tyranid player and my roommate plays Tau lol.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: