Switch Theme:

Magna Grapple... how exactly work?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in it
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




Hi all
i found no reference to the "grapple" abilities on Rulebook; however i found it on BA codex of 5th edition
and is'nt really clear...

so:
- first i need to shoot at the veichle
- then i do damage (S8 AP1 is still a good anti tank veichle)
- then if i hit i can roll 8+1d6 vs his armour; if successfull i can move him to 2d6"
right?

and then questions:
a) i check against higher av? lower av? front av? or the av of the face i'm pointing at?
b) if i use them on something similar with force field (ie Necron annihilators), i check against standard av, or av modified by force field?
c) he can cover save the grapple effect?
d) i can force him to tank shock his own troops? or ram his veichles? (or just let him "ram" piece of terrain like ruins, walls, or wrecked veichles)
e) if target veichle is an hovering one, i can move him across impassable terrain as long as he end up on plain (ie not impassable) terrain?
f) if he ends up on difficolt terrain he still have to roll for dangerous terrain or it's stopped at terrain's border?

ty for your help!

--
Each Uisge
3000 (approx)

some of my work here: https://imgur.com/user/MaleficoKelpie/posts

WH40k - Blood Angels https://imgur.com/a/p5F7u and Imperial Knight https://imgur.com/a/STDmxPF
Necromunda https://imgur.com/a/AQ3xX
Kings of War https://imgur.com/a/x56ods7 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

a) highest AV, as the rules state.
b) rules do not say unmodified AV, so it would use the modified AV.
c) cover saves only apply to wounds, and glancing/penetrating hits.
d) tank shock, yes. Ram, no.
e and f) the vehicle stops as soon as it moves within 1"of difficult or impassable terrain.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Also i think the 2d6 move must be directly towards the dreadnought firing the magna grapple.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in au
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




The Golden Throne

And the grapples are AP 2

Build a man a fire, he will be warm for a night. Set a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life. 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought





Boston, MA

I pulled a Warhound titan to my Furioso - it was awesome, sadly moments later the 'stomp' attacked turned my dread into dust.

Please check out my photo blog: http://atticwars40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in ch
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




 Gunzhard wrote:
I pulled a Warhound titan to my Furioso - it was awesome, sadly moments later the 'stomp' attacked turned my dread into dust.
loool

--
Each Uisge
3000 (approx)

some of my work here: https://imgur.com/user/MaleficoKelpie/posts

WH40k - Blood Angels https://imgur.com/a/p5F7u and Imperial Knight https://imgur.com/a/STDmxPF
Necromunda https://imgur.com/a/AQ3xX
Kings of War https://imgur.com/a/x56ods7 
   
Made in au
Brain-Dead Zombie of Nurgle





If the distance rolled is enough to drag the model in b2b, is this counting as charging and count as engaged? or is the assault phase the only time a model can be brought into combat?

1850: 28 Days Later Zombies 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 ScabiusBile wrote:
If the distance rolled is enough to drag the model in b2b, is this counting as charging and count as engaged? or is the assault phase the only time a model can be brought into combat?

the latter. The grapple doesn't give you permission to engage in combat
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 CrownAxe wrote:
 ScabiusBile wrote:
If the distance rolled is enough to drag the model in b2b, is this counting as charging and count as engaged? or is the assault phase the only time a model can be brought into combat?

the latter. The grapple doesn't give you permission to engage in combat

But it doesn't matter because you should just declare a charge in your assault phase against the vehicle you moved close to you anyway.

You will get the +1 attack charge bonus and everything.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/05 03:18:43


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 DeathReaper wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
 ScabiusBile wrote:
If the distance rolled is enough to drag the model in b2b, is this counting as charging and count as engaged? or is the assault phase the only time a model can be brought into combat?

the latter. The grapple doesn't give you permission to engage in combat

But it doesn't matter because you should just declare a charge in your assault phase against the vehicle you moved close to you anyway.

You will get the +1 attack charge bonus and everything.


It would matter if you couldn't charge for some reason, like you arrived from reserves or are immobilised. But no, the grapple cannot drag a vehicle into combat, as the dragged vehicle must stop 1" away from other vehicles.
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

Interesting idea here:
You drop pod a DC Dread with a grapple, target and grapple a vindicator ass end. Immobilize it. Drag it to you in B2B.
When you get to the assault phase you can not charge, but if it is in b2b with you already you can still cc with it.
Does this sound right? I mean, I really do not know how to handle that one.

Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in nz
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider





New Zealand

Chrysis wrote:
It would matter if you couldn't charge for some reason, like you arrived from reserves or are immobilised. But no, the grapple cannot drag a vehicle into combat, as the dragged vehicle must stop 1" away from other vehicles.


Since you can't come into contact with the vehicle (as mentioned in the quote) then you don't have the issue you're concerned with.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 OIIIIIIO wrote:
Interesting idea here:
You drop pod a DC Dread with a grapple, target and grapple a vindicator ass end. Immobilize it. Drag it to you in B2B.
When you get to the assault phase you can not charge, but if it is in b2b with you already you can still cc with it.
Does this sound right? I mean, I really do not know how to handle that one.

The vindicator wouldn't be in base contact so no swings
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: