Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/09 01:15:00
Subject: Tank shock
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
What exactly happens if I tank shock unit standing next to the board edge (as on the image included) - can they go through middle of the tank to stay in legal position after tank shock - or they are destroyed?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/09 01:22:37
Subject: Re:Tank shock
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
if you lable the circles:
A B
C D
if they pass their morale, you'd move B first straight to the right til he's at least 1" clear of the tank, then move D to the right til he's clear and in coherency, Then C, then A who moves more diagonally as that would be his shortest path to clear the tank and maintain coherency. in the end they'd be to the right of the tank.
If they fail their morale test they'd run off the table.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/09 01:42:40
Subject: Tank shock
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Actually B, C and D would be destroyed because they cannot be moved while maintaining unit coherency and there is no permission to move A.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/09 01:51:26
Subject: Tank shock
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Abandon wrote:Actually B, C and D would be destroyed because they cannot be moved while maintaining unit coherency and there is no permission to move A.
to me it looked like the tank clipped A's base, so it could move as it's base is under the tank. from the picture we'd be rolling off for that one. if that was not what the OP was intending and A was not supposed to be under the tank, then it is as you said.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/09 02:05:29
Subject: Tank shock
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
sirlynchmob wrote: Abandon wrote:Actually B, C and D would be destroyed because they cannot be moved while maintaining unit coherency and there is no permission to move A.
to me it looked like the tank clipped A's base, so it could move as it's base is under the tank. from the picture we'd be rolling off for that one. if that was not what the OP was intending and A was not supposed to be under the tank, then it is as you said.
Agreed. Does look like Base contact to me but it is close so I'd agree to a roll.
OP, if you are the one tank shocking in this scenario make sure to position the tank similarly to the depiction (leaving not enough room between the tank and board edges for the models +1 inch) but just a millimeter or two of clearance between the tank and model A to make it clear. No need to leave room for argument if you don't need to.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/09 02:07:54
Subject: Tank shock
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
well, if the given is that A is not moving, then this means there is room to move the models that are moving to line up with A.
so no, they are not destroyed as you say.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/09 02:38:04
Subject: Tank shock
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
nutty_nutter wrote:well, if the given is that A is not moving, then this means there is room to move the models that are moving to line up with A.
so no, they are not destroyed as you say.
If A is in base contact but not under the final position it has no permission to be moved. If these are standard base sizes there is no not enough room to place the others on the board edge and one inch away from the tank as is specified the the tank shock rules. I don't see that A being positioned where it is has any bearing on this. B,C and D are permitted and required to move per the Tank shock rules but A is not if it is not underneath the tanks final position.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/09 02:38:37
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/09 11:25:35
Subject: Tank shock
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nutty_nutter wrote:well, if the given is that A is not moving, then this means there is room to move the models that are moving to line up with A.
so no, they are not destroyed as you say.
While there is room to physically put D,C and D to the left of the tank in the same 'column' as A there is not enough room to put them there legally. Remember the models must be at least 1 inch from the hull of the tank after they are moved. Placing them in base contact, or darn near close to base contact, is not permitted.
On a side note, I don't see anything that says the tank can't stay less then an inch from enemy models after it completes its tank shock,
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/09 16:10:07
Subject: Tank shock
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
DJGietzen wrote: nutty_nutter wrote:well, if the given is that A is not moving, then this means there is room to move the models that are moving to line up with A.
so no, they are not destroyed as you say.
While there is room to physically put D,C and D to the left of the tank in the same 'column' as A there is not enough room to put them there legally. Remember the models must be at least 1 inch from the hull of the tank after they are moved. Placing them in base contact, or darn near close to base contact, is not permitted.
On a side note, I don't see anything that says the tank can't stay less then an inch from enemy models after it completes its tank shock,
it cannot, therefore if A is not moving then the tank has no legal right to perform the tank shock in this manner.
either the whole squad is lining up on one side of it or the whole lot are moving.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/09 16:17:56
Subject: Re:Tank shock
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Maybe I should be more precise (much more precise) with my question. I am wondering what exactly means Rulebook's words "these models must be moved out of the way by the shortest distance,leaving at least1"between them and the vehicle whilst maintaining unit coherency and staying on the board."?
Can those models move any distance (for example more than 6" as infrantry ) and any direction (for example move through most of attacking tank) and in any way (for example through own units) to end up in unit coherency?
Let's see on the example:
Can G move that far (let's assume it is 5,5") and can F move if it is more than 6" or should they rather move to the right (as it is closest way to escape from tank shocked area) and die because of lack of coherency?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/09 16:19:27
Subject: Tank shock
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You move the shortest distance, with no limitation on how far that is.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/10 00:32:40
Subject: Tank shock
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
nutty_nutter wrote: DJGietzen wrote: nutty_nutter wrote:well, if the given is that A is not moving, then this means there is room to move the models that are moving to line up with A.
so no, they are not destroyed as you say.
While there is room to physically put D,C and D to the left of the tank in the same 'column' as A there is not enough room to put them there legally. Remember the models must be at least 1 inch from the hull of the tank after they are moved. Placing them in base contact, or darn near close to base contact, is not permitted.
On a side note, I don't see anything that says the tank can't stay less then an inch from enemy models after it completes its tank shock,
it cannot, therefore if A is not moving then the tank has no legal right to perform the tank shock in this manner.
either the whole squad is lining up on one side of it or the whole lot are moving.
Tanks Shock allows it to move within an inch of an enemy unit. It even allows you to move on top of the unit... kind of the main thing it does... It then permits and requires the models that would be under the final position of the tank to move. Enemy models not under the tank but within one inch do not meet the requirements to be moved. They are therefore left where they are while the models being moved must be placed one inch away from the tank.
cinek74 wrote:Maybe I should be more precise (much more precise) with my question. I am wondering what exactly means Rulebook's words "these models must be moved out of the way by the shortest distance,leaving at least1"between them and the vehicle whilst maintaining unit coherency and staying on the board."?
Can those models move any distance (for example more than 6" as infrantry ) and any direction (for example move through most of attacking tank) and in any way (for example through own units) to end up in unit coherency?
Let's see on the example:
Can G move that far (let's assume it is 5,5") and can F move if it is more than 6" or should they rather move to the right (as it is closest way to escape from tank shocked area) and die because of lack of coherency?
As far as moving the models there are three rule for how they need to be moved which dictate their final position.
1. They must be moved the shortest possible distance
2. They must be moved at least one inch away from the tank
3. They must maintain unit coherency with this move.
Permission is given to move the models as far as is required to meet all three.
In your picture here you almost have it correct but (assuming the dotted line is 1" away from the tank) both G and F would stop right at the one inch mark and should be touching the dotted line (shortest possible distance). Other than that it looks right.
Note: If E and F are more than 2 inches from each other and you had positioned the tank 2 inches to the left and shortened is move by 1/2 inch (from the look of things) then A, G, B, C and D would have been destroyed because they could not be moved at least one inch away from the tank and maintain unit coherency at the same time due to model E having to stay where it is ...Crunch!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/10 00:33:16
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/10 21:14:35
Subject: Re:Tank shock
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Do You mean situation like on this picture below? Aren't those ABCDG models legally moved? Do they need to stay in coherency with any model (F) of the unit or unit coherency cannot be broken at all?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 02:39:20
Subject: Tank shock
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
The entire unit must stay in coherency. It's a common misconception that you can move the models as you have in the depiction and that the models being moved are in coherency even if one or more other models in the unit are not.
There is no such thing as 'partial unit coherency'. A unit is either wholly in coherency or it is not in coherency.
In the example the unit is not in coherency after the move due to model being E being more than 2 inches away from any other model in the unit. This means you did not move the models while maintaining unit coherency which is a requirement according to the tankshock rules. As there is no way to move them and maintain coherency, they would be destroyed.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 18:36:09
Subject: Tank shock
|
 |
Blood Sacrifice to Khorne
|
Do you apply hits from a deffrolla or destroyer blades before these models are removed, or afterwards?
|
|
 |
 |
|