Switch Theme:

Venomthrope embarked on a biotitan  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





San Antonio, TX

Got a quasi funny rules question for everyone... If I take a Hierophant bio-titan with the upgrade to become a open top assault transport with a capacity for 20... and then I embark a Venomthrope... Where do I measure the 6" shrouded bubble from? The Venomthrope is verybulky and i figure at a minimum it would at least give shrouded to the biotitan... but does that 6" bubble then get measured out from the biotitan now instead of the Venomthrope?

Rules:

Spore Cloud: All friendly models from Codex: Tyranids that are within 6" of at least one Venomthrope have the Shrouded special rule. (Codex: Tyranids p47)

Swarm Incubation Chamber: The Hierophant Bio-titan gains a Transport capacity of 20 models, and friendly units chosen from Codex: Tyranids may embark and disembark from it as though it was a Vehicle with the Transport type and Assault Vehicle special rule.

Custom designs for 3d printing

http://www.shapeways.com/shops/redstoneminiatures
https://www.facebook.com/redstoneminiatures 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Biotitan, following the transport rules.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





San Antonio, TX

cool beans, that was what i was leaning towards too but i wanted to see if there was a rule i wasn't aware of or a precedent otherwise.

Were having an escalation tourney for april fools at the FLGS and this just seemed to fun not to do. that and deathleaper manning the quadgun standing right next to the biotitan.

Im getting some counter points from some good rules lawyers so ill put what they have here and see what you all think...

Dark angels FAQ, I pointed out that it is only good for their codex and until nids/forgeworld get an faq its just a talking point.
Page 64 – Power Field Generator Add “If the bearer is embarked upon a Transport vehicle, the power field’s effects only apply to models embarked upon that vehicle”.

Nids dont have that distinction yet...

BRB FAQ
Q: Do embarked passengers with ‘area of effect’ wargear, such as the Big Mek’s Kustom Force Field, measure the range of such items from the hull of the transport they are embarked upon? (p78)
A: Yes.

Now this is a special ability and not a wargear but it is an area of effect and i think this is a good precedent to allow it.

Then the counter to this being that all rules point to measuring from the hull of a vehicle... the RAW rules lawyer points out that even though the Biotian is treated as a vehicle for this purpose it does not have a hull to measure from as it is a gargantuan and not a vehcile model.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/02/09 03:30:41


Custom designs for 3d printing

http://www.shapeways.com/shops/redstoneminiatures
https://www.facebook.com/redstoneminiatures 
   
Made in fi
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






Measuring, p 4: "Distances between models and all other objects are always measured from closest point on one base to the closest point on the other base."

Vehicles & Measuring Distances, p. 71: "As vehicle models do not usually have bases, the normal rule of measuring distances to or from a base cannot be used. Instead, - - measure to and from their hull."

I assume the Bio-Titan comes with a base (it has one in all the pictures I've seen), so it CAN use the normal rule of measuring distances.

The PFG entry in the DA FAQ is actually an errata; by the book it would've worked off the hull, but three indestructable Land Raiders side by side was deemed too good for the First Legion.

The BRB FAQ entry is a clarification on how to use area effect abilities from a transport, and the rules clearly allow measuring to the titan's base.

Hop on board and Shroud away!
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Base NOT included.
   
Made in nl
Brainy Zoanthrope





Transports will normaly alow you to measure from the hull so i'd say measuring from its body would be yust fine.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

A shrouding Bio-Titan... LOVE IT!
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Byte wrote:
A shrouding Bio-Titan... LOVE IT!
It's almost as good as a Mekboy with KFF embarked on a Stompa
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

Similar to putting him in a Bastion, yes?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Byte wrote:
Similar to putting him in a Bastion, yes?
A walking bastion. With more guns.
And you don't get the debate of "is it a vehicle?"
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: