Switch Theme:

What can JOTWW pass through?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin






I was playing a game last Thursday and I tried to use JOTWW on a unit of some SM bikers. My RP had a DP between him and the bikes. My opponent said that the line couldn't pass through the DP and therefore could not get to his bikes. I reread the JOTWW entry and I think my copy may be old enough that the period at the end of the word terrain may have looked like a comma. I'm a new SW player so I'm a little unclear on this.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Considering it says that it may pass through terrain,it being a period or comma does not matter.

It does not say that it stops when it his a model so it continues until the range is reached.

AKA, JotWW passes through everything.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/10 01:48:33


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




I guess if the Drop Pod had its doors open then definitely. But if the doors were closed, then no.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout



Louisville, Ky

 Lord Krungharr wrote:
I guess if the Drop Pod had its doors open then definitely. But if the doors were closed, then no.


this is wrong. it passes 24" no matter what.

1000-6500 SW W/L/D 6/1/3
2014: 12/0/4
2015: 8/5/4

Adeptus_lupus instagram for BR
Ave Imperator 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin






Okdoke, thanks for the clarification everyone!
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

 Lord Krungharr wrote:
I guess if the Drop Pod had its doors open then definitely. But if the doors were closed, then no.


As stated, JOTWW passes through everything. As an important side note, even if it didn't pass through something that would block LOS, a majority of respondents (65%) think that the Drop Pod doors must always be played as though they were open, regardless of how it is modeled.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/10 06:12:45


Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Doesn't the line from Jaws have to touch the bike squad first though? It can hit the doors without a problem but if it hits the hull of it, wouldn't he then have to cast it on the DP and have it continue through to the bikes?

3000pts
2500pts

3000pts Dark Elves 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout



Louisville, Ky

patrickparker wrote:
Doesn't the line from Jaws have to touch the bike squad first though? It can hit the doors without a problem but if it hits the hull of it, wouldn't he then have to cast it on the DP and have it continue through to the bikes?


JOTWL does not declare any specific targets. It is just a 24" line in any direction from the RP, what ever the line touches takes an Initative test and blah blah blah


1000-6500 SW W/L/D 6/1/3
2014: 12/0/4
2015: 8/5/4

Adeptus_lupus instagram for BR
Ave Imperator 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I will disagree here. It's a psychic shooting attack and therefore must have a declared target. I used to deal with it a lot in 5th edition. If he can see the bikes, he can target them. If he can't see the bikes, he can target the pod anywhere he wants, draw the line as he sees fit and then hit anything that the line passes through that is in range, including the bikes.

Paul
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

jason2250 wrote:
I will disagree here. It's a psychic shooting attack and therefore must have a declared target. I used to deal with it a lot in 5th edition. If he can see the bikes, he can target them. If he can't see the bikes, he can target the pod anywhere he wants, draw the line as he sees fit and then hit anything that the line passes through that is in range, including the bikes.

Paul


This. It's covered in the Space Wolves FAQ. He must have LoS to the first model hit, which is in effect the target of the attack.
   
Made in nz
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider





New Zealand

 Jimsolo wrote:
As an important side note, even if it didn't pass through something that would block LOS, a majority of players (65%) think that the Drop Pod doors must always be played as though they were open, regardless of how it is modeled.


Jim, while i appreciate the time you put into making polls to get a feel for how Dakka members are playing their games, saying that "a majority of players" does something based on these polls is misleading. it's the majority of people who responded to your poll, who are in no way the majority of players, dakka users or anything else.
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Edited chelsea. Sorry about that. Is that satisfactory?

Although I think Dakka users are a pretty fair representation of the 40k community as a whole. I'm not saying that a poll on dakka is scientific or anything, but I think it's a pretty decent representation for how the community is playing a rule. (Or to be more accurate, how the collective of individuals think the rule SHOULD be played.)

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in nz
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider





New Zealand

Having run some events in my community and talking to FLGS owners, the majority of the players in the area are not affiliated with either of the 2 local clubs, nor do they participate in any of the local events which range from narrative campaigns to "traditional" tournaments

the deeper i dig, the more i find the "garage" gamer to be the majority and they're just off doing whatever makes them happy. those of us who frequent the forums seem to have a larger pool of players to choose from (since we play at stores, clubs, events) and want consensus on the rules as a result.

i appreciate the change you made to the original post, and find the results of the polls interesting, but i still think we're the vocal minority
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Kavik_Whitescar wrote:
patrickparker wrote:
Doesn't the line from Jaws have to touch the bike squad first though? It can hit the doors without a problem but if it hits the hull of it, wouldn't he then have to cast it on the DP and have it continue through to the bikes?


JOTWL does not declare any specific targets. It is just a 24" line in any direction from the RP, what ever the line touches takes an Initative test and blah blah blah


Jaws most definitely declares a specific target. You should check out the FAQs. The target is the first model it hits which it must have LOS to. After that you can hit what you want as the line keeps going.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also if it didn't declare a target then there would be no DTW roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/10 20:16:58


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Not entirely true. The FAQ says he must have LOS to the first model affected. So if you have infantry behind a walker(which can't be affected) then the infantry unit is the target, because it's the first affected.

Caboose

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/10 21:42:23


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Not to derail the thread, but since we are talking about JOTWW, I have a question.

Does each unit hit by Jaws get a deny like a Nova power, or does just one get it and if it succeeds, the power is negated for all units touched?

Fire claws innocents without number
As charred cinders replace green life
Death takes good and evil to their slumber
And guilt stabs into me with its knife 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Kavik_Whitescar wrote:
 Lord Krungharr wrote:
I guess if the Drop Pod had its doors open then definitely. But if the doors were closed, then no.


this is wrong. it passes 24" no matter what.


this is wrong, if the drop pod has been wrecked it remains on the table as terrain. JOTWW cannot pass through terrain.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 Fedral wrote:
Not to derail the thread, but since we are talking about JOTWW, I have a question.

Does each unit hit by Jaws get a deny like a Nova power, or does just one get it and if it succeeds, the power is negated for all units touched?


No. Only the first unit affected gets to DtW. If they drop the ball then every unit it passes through can blame them.

Caboose


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DJGietzen wrote:
Kavik_Whitescar wrote:
 Lord Krungharr wrote:
I guess if the Drop Pod had its doors open then definitely. But if the doors were closed, then no.


this is wrong. it passes 24" no matter what.


this is wrong, if the drop pod has been wrecked it remains on the table as terrain. JOTWW cannot pass through terrain.


I don't see anywhere that says JotWW can't pass through terrain.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/12 23:11:58


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I misread deathreaper's post.
   
Made in us
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot





Equestria/USA

(how we have always played it) It is a line attack that hits everything the line touches. First unit that is in LOS and targeted gets hit, opponent makes the DTW roll, if it fails the line continues to its maximum range and then hits all units/models under the line. we know fluff =/= rules, but it is the planet opening up and swallowing units

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/12 23:42:10


Black Templars 4000 Deathwatch 6000
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: