Switch Theme:

Squad limit and dedicated transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Kabalite Conscript





Can you take a dedicated transport for a unit that will not fit on it?

For example: 20 Dark Eldar Warriors for a single raider.

I thought that it wasn't allowed for some reason... but can't find anything to suggest i can't....
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

Some codex have that restriction. I can't remember if DE has it. You'll have to check, but it's not a global rule at least
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

It depends on the wording in the codex for the unit in question. Some can take a transport that they can't fit in while others can't.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Here's a question. since units can take dedicated transports, but not be deployed in them right away, can other units be deployed in it?

For example, let's say I took a crusader squad, who can take a LRC as dedicated. If I start the crusader squad on foot, can I stick some assault marines in the LRC on deployment?

DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in dk
Tail Gunner





 Icculus wrote:
Here's a question. since units can take dedicated transports, but not be deployed in them right away, can other units be deployed in it?

For example, let's say I took a crusader squad, who can take a LRC as dedicated. If I start the crusader squad on foot, can I stick some assault marines in the LRC on deployment?


No. 'Dedicated Transports' BRB page 78.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oceanic

I do believe a unit can get a dedicated transport, even if they exceed the limit. They cannot start partially embarked or be able to embark it.

As for other friendly units. They can't start in the transport. But you can deploy them within two inches of the access points. Then have them embark. As long as the vehicle didn't move first, they can jump in and then have the vehicle move out. So it's basically the same as starting out

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiJ5Xnv1ClgVcGmmb-zQBlw

Perils of the Wallet - YouTube Channel 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

Johnnytorrance wrote:
I do believe a unit can get a dedicated transport, even if they exceed the limit. They cannot start partially embarked or be able to embark it.

As for other friendly units. They can't start in the transport. But you can deploy them within two inches of the access points. Then have them embark. As long as the vehicle didn't move first, they can jump in and then have the vehicle move out. So it's basically the same as starting out

As already pointed out, some books have a limitation on that, the orks for example IIRC. Most recent books don't.
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Johnnytorrance wrote:
I do believe a unit can get a dedicated transport, even if they exceed the limit. They cannot start partially embarked or be able to embark it.

As for other friendly units. They can't start in the transport. But you can deploy them within two inches of the access points. Then have them embark. As long as the vehicle didn't move first, they can jump in and then have the vehicle move out. So it's basically the same as starting out


it's the same if you go first. if you go second they would be sitting out in the open

DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

The Dedicated Transport section in the DE Codex has a specific restriction.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: