Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 18:45:57
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Gurus,
A carry-over that affected my tourney list building for the LVO.
Meganobz, as you may know have the Slow and Purposeful USR.
This rule states the following on page 42, first sentence.
"A unit that contains at least one model with this SR cannot Run, Turbo-boost, move Flat-Out, perform Sweepimg Advances or Fire Overwatch."
I presume this would mean that the traditional MANz Missle of Meganobz in a Trukk can move combat / cruising speed but cannot flat out? Which is a bummer.
Your thoughts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 18:48:39
Subject: Re:Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I think it would only apply to foot manz not truck/looted/battle manz and the vechile entry does not mention anyhitng about being slowed except for terrian.
thank again I could be wrong.
|
<--Bolt on Cuteness: S:20,No armour save, no invul save, no cover save, Range:unlimited---DEAL
Enough too have fun
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 18:49:22
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
doktor_g wrote:Gurus,
A carry-over that affected my tourney list building for the LVO.
Meganobz, as you may know have the Slow and Purposeful USR.
This rule states the following on page 42, first sentence.
"A unit that contains at least one model with this SR cannot Run, Turbo-boost, move Flat-Out, perform Sweepimg Advances or Fire Overwatch."
I presume this would mean that the traditional MANz Missle of Meganobz in a Trukk can move combat / cruising speed but cannot flat out? Which is a bummer.
Your thoughts.
As I said in your thread, the truck is never, and cannot ever be, part of the MANz unit. It can flat out all it wants.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 18:50:56
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Why would you not be able to use flat out movement?
Is the Trukk somehow a part of the MANz unit?
If so when the MANz embark onto the trukk does the trukk have to embark upon itself?
BRB Page 78 wrote:The whole unit must be able to embark - if some models are out of range, the entire unit must stay outside.
Does the Trukk have to shoot at the same target as the embarked unit?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 18:51:08
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
As above.
A unit and their transport are complely seperate units.
A rule applying to one unit has no effect on the other.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 19:34:20
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
I think he's looking at the word "contains". If a unit is embarked on a transport, couldn't it be said that the transport contains that unit?
It's not an entirely absurd argument, either.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 19:48:26
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
USRs do not carry over to transports from passengers or vice versa unless the USR says so. They're separate units, even if they happen to occupy the same space while the passengers are aboard. There's USRs like Infiltrate and Outflank that make specific mention of them being available for the unit's Dedicated Transport if they deploy/arrive in it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 20:03:01
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Cheexsta wrote:I think he's looking at the word "contains". If a unit is embarked on a transport, couldn't it be said that the transport contains that unit?
It's not an entirely absurd argument, either.
The unit does not contain (as in, part of the unit) a SNP model.
The trukk does not contain a SNP model either - they're put off to the side.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 21:15:54
Subject: Re:Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Ho-hum)
Curb stomping in the Eye of Terror!
|
Yep... missle MANz still works in 6ed.
|
Live Ork, Be Ork. or D'Ork!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 21:26:52
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Hey folks. (And rigeld2)... Original poster here:
What I'm confused about is this: Are dedicated transports NOT considered part of the unit?
For instance, a Megaboss joining a group of Lootas imparts S&P to the Lootas (now hit on 5s and 6s). But the Lootas can't run or fire overwatch etc... Wouldn't the same restrictions and benefits apply to the trukk carrying MANz?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 22:00:19
Subject: Re:Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
Smokin' Skorcha Driver
Tucson, Arizona
|
The rules for ICs specificly allow them to join a unit whereas a Trukk does not have these rules. Another way to look at is like this...when a Vendetta carrying a squad of Guardsmen gets shot down and let's say the impact kills every single model. How many kill points would you get then? By your logic it would only be one however I guarantee you everyone in the world would say two kill points.
|
-5000 Pts. of Orks
-1750 Pts. of Ravenwing |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 22:13:33
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
doktor_g wrote:Hey folks. (And rigeld2)... Original poster here:
What I'm confused about is this: Are dedicated transports NOT considered part of the unit?
Not at all. In any way. Never have been.
The only difference between a dedicated transport and a regular transport is that a dedicated can only start the game with the unit that purchased it embarked. It can start empty, but if anyone is in it, it has to be the unit that purchased it.
For instance, a Megaboss joining a group of Lootas imparts S&P to the Lootas (now hit on 5s and 6s). But the Lootas can't run or fire overwatch etc... Wouldn't the same restrictions and benefits apply to the trukk carrying MANz?
No because, again, the trukk is never part of the MANz unit.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/11 23:35:21
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
doktor_g wrote:Hey folks. (And rigeld2)... Original poster here:
What I'm confused about is this: Are dedicated transports NOT considered part of the unit?
If the dedicated transports were considered part of the unit, the Transport would have to embark upon itself. This of course is impossible (and silly to think it can) and shows us that the transport is a separate unit altogether.
"The whole unit must be able to embark - if some models are out of range, the entire unit must stay outside." ( brb 78)
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/12 01:46:58
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
If the DC was destroyed, shot down squished etc w/o killing occupants is that FB then?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/12 01:48:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/12 01:51:38
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Yes. The transport is a unit of one model.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/12 01:55:04
Subject: Meganobz in a Trukk can (or cannot) Flat Out?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Ok then. Well, this discussion has made me happy about meganobz but sad that I only have 3. I promised myself no new Orks until the codex. Maybe the price will drop (hah!).
|
|
 |
 |
|