Switch Theme:

Odd witchfire powers and rolling to hit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





Ottawa, Canada

On page 69 the rule book it says all witchfire powers must roll to hit unless they are blast or template (or one of the listed subtypes which have their own rules).

The psychic screech rule says to roll 3D6 and the unit suffers X wounds. But since it's a witchfire it technically has to roll to hit doesn't it? Would that be 1 roll to hit before the 3D6 are rolled or would each wound need to roll to hit using the psykers BS?

Likewise JotWW is a psychic shooting attack and the FAQ says it is not a beam power. Therefore wouldn't it also need to roll to hit as per page 69?

I know both of these powers aren't conventional shooting attacks but I am wondering if I missed something and they are somehow excluded from the rules on page 69. I know codex takes precedence over rule book but JotWW was never FAQ'ed to specifically ignore rolling to hit.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






JotWW is a beam. Whoever wrote the faq saying it isnt needs to be fired.

Psychic screech should not be classified as a witchfire, but since there was no other classification close to it, they went with witchfire.

The powers description tells you what to do. Dont try to complicate them further.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





Ottawa, Canada

So it's really a situation of RAW being silly and logic says to do it another way. Got it.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






If you have to have strict RAW for a debate, then yes, classified as witchfires you would roll to hit.

However since there are no weapon profiles, the amount of dice you roll to hit with is undetermined, and the power could very well still go off even if you miss.

Its better to just not worry about the witchfire classification and do what the powers description says.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




It is best to treat older edition powers as they are written. JotWW is not a beam power, but acts like one in some respects. Just simply do what the power tells you to do.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Jotww is specifically not called a beam, it tells you in the faq if you need to roll to hit and it tells you between the FAQ and the basic rules in the codex exactly how it works in 6th ed.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

According to RAW you have to roll to hit with Psychic Shriek, but you aren't told how many dice to roll the results of the roll are completely irrelevant.
Resolving this requires a house-rule, either it automatically hits, or it is treated as an assault 1 strength - shooting attack that resolves the power if it hits but does not if it misses.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: