| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/24 15:42:32
Subject: Question regarding single model units and multi-assaults
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)
|
Would it be possible to make a multi-assault with a single model unit such as a daemon prince? This came up in a game the other day and if they can then I would like help as to how I can explain it to my friend who thinks they cannot. The more RAW the explanation is the better.
|
"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War
"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."
10k
2k
500 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/24 15:47:57
Subject: Question regarding single model units and multi-assaults
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Negative, Should I be remembering correctly, the rules for charging require the initial charger to be moved into base to base contact with the original target and stipulate that this model can only be in contact with the targeted unit. In your situation the Daemon Prince would have to be placed in a position where it is in base to base contact with the initial target and the secondary target at the same time. This would make it impossible to charge both units as it would be illegal for the initial charging model to touch more then a single unit. It would just be granting free Overwatch to a secondary unit.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/24 15:58:11
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/24 17:49:42
Subject: Question regarding single model units and multi-assaults
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above. Only the second and on model is allowed to make contact with any unit other than the primary.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/24 17:54:16
Subject: Question regarding single model units and multi-assaults
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)
|
Alright thanks that helps alot since we had two conflicting circus players debating this in a tournament and just rolled off for it
|
"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War
"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."
10k
2k
500 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/27 22:10:18
Subject: Re:Question regarding single model units and multi-assaults
|
 |
Irked Blood Angel Scout with Combat Knife
|
i am not contradicitng anyone here, but there is a small debate as to whether the single model unit would be able to declare a disordered charge at all since he can never make contact with the second unit.
one side says that the second unit is a legal target that is in range when the charge is declared, so multiple overwatch and no extra attack or furious charge.
others say that the rules say you are not allowed to declare an assault against a unit you can't reach, and by logic you can never reach a second unit with a single model, so you have to take the bonuses from assaulting and make it more likely to wipe the enemy on the charge.
either way the single model would only be able to make base contact with one unit.
Denny1824
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/27 22:14:34
Subject: Question regarding single model units and multi-assaults
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rules are very clear that you cannot.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/27 23:58:53
Subject: Question regarding single model units and multi-assaults
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
"A charging model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in a secondary target unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target." Pg28
Previous thread on the debate: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/565012.page
Resolution: No, you're not allowed to.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|