Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/25 20:48:30
Subject: Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
Minnesota, land of 10,000 Lakes and 10,000,000,000 Mosquitos
|
Yet another question about the Riptide and the Earth Caste Piloting Array. I know there was a massive thread about this issue, and I don't intend to get into it. My question is related to a secondary effect of the ECPA.
Say I have a Riptide with an Ion Accelerator and the Earth Caste Piloting Array. The ECPA, for the record, allows re-rolling all to hit rolls of 1. Under the Gets Hot! rule, "if a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit, a wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll to hit."
Does the ECPA let me re-roll the Gets Hot! roll on the Ion Accelerator? The reason I ask is because the ECPA only allows re-rolls of 1, not any old time.
(Also, I'm sorry if this is a stupid question, I only want to make sure I'm reading this correctly)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/25 21:16:18
Subject: Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I would say yes, but can't support it with rules. Technically it is still a reroll to hit so then you could reroll the gets hot as well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/25 22:10:52
Subject: Re:Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
I'll be honest,I'm not sure what those weapons/things are.
But I can give it a general hit and miss...
You have more/less answered your own question, I believe.
Assuming a Riptide is a vehicle (I have little to no knowledge of Tau, sorry) then on a 1, 2 or 3 the weapon gets hot, right? (Or at least for blast/templates on vehicles)
If it isn't a vehicle/walker then it's on a 1.
If ECPA is allowing rerolls of 1 for Gets Hot! special rule, in either case you may reroll the 1.
Unless the Ion Accelerator has a specific rule stating something like "You can NEVER re-roll the Gets Hot! roll".
Sorry if that's not what you're asking.
|
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/25 22:19:47
Subject: Re:Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Ond Angel wrote:Assuming a Riptide is a vehicle (I have little to no knowledge of Tau, sorry) then on a 1, 2 or 3 the weapon gets hot, right? (Or at least for blast/templates on vehicles)
No, a Riptide isn't a vehicle.
And vehicle's Get Hot on a 1 just like non-vehicles.
The difference is that non-vehicles get an armor save after rolling a 1, and vehicles just get a 4+ save.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/25 22:41:03
Subject: Re:Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote: Ond Angel wrote:Assuming a Riptide is a vehicle (I have little to no knowledge of Tau, sorry) then on a 1, 2 or 3 the weapon gets hot, right? (Or at least for blast/templates on vehicles)
No, a Riptide isn't a vehicle.
And vehicle's Get Hot on a 1 just like non-vehicles.
The difference is that non-vehicles get an armor save after rolling a 1, and vehicles just get a 4+ save.
(Emphasis mine)
That should not say save, that should say 'To avoid a glancing hit'
Quick clarification fix there, because if a vehicle rolls a 1-3 it takes a glancing hit and then a vehicle could take a save against the glancing hit if it had a save to take (Like Sisters of Battle vehicles, or vehicles in the range of a Ork forcefield thing Etc...).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/25 22:44:05
Subject: Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Fair enough.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/25 23:01:17
Subject: Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Ond Angel, Riptide is a Monstrous Creature. Ion Accelerator has three profiles: Two which are blast markers that have the Get Hot's Rule. This piece of war-gear allows a Re-Roll To Hit results of 1. Get's Hot Rules allows Get's Hot Results to be re-rolled if the model posses the ability to re-Roll To Hit. To better phrase this question: If a Blast Marker rolls a 1 on the Get's Hot result, and the model has the ability to Re-Roll 1's, can the owning player re-roll the Get's Hot result.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/25 23:02:28
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/25 23:07:38
Subject: Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I think the important thing to remember is that for weapons that do not roll to hit that also Gets Hot, the Gets Hot roll is a seperate dice.
In the above example, you would roll four dice everytime the ion accelerator is used in its overcharge or novacharge profile: 1 scatter die, 2d6 for scatter distance, and 1d6 for Gets Hot.
The Gets Hot roll needs to be a 2+ to avoid the subsequent wound and failure of shooting. This result is the one that can be rerolled with the ECPA, "it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll to hit."
Note that this would also be the case if (no ECPA necessary) if the Riptide were somehow twinlinked (buffmander, psychic power, etc)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/26 00:12:51
Subject: Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
San Diego, CA
|
There is a rule clarification on this matter in the digital version of the farsight supplement. You can use the ecpa for gets hot on blasts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/26 00:44:54
Subject: Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
Wise Ethereal with Bodyguard
Catskills in NYS
|
DirtyDeeds wrote:There is a rule clarification on this matter in the digital version of the farsight supplement. You can use the ecpa for gets hot on blasts
Pg 418 in my book:
Gets Hot and Re-rolls
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls
To Hit (including because of BS 6+, or Twinlinked),
a Wound is only suffered if the To
Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets
Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll
To Hit.
|
Homosexuality is the #1 cause of gay marriage.
kronk wrote:Every pizza is a personal sized pizza if you try hard enough and believe in yourself.
sebster wrote:Yes, indeed. What a terrible piece of cultural imperialism it is for me to say that a country shouldn't murder its own citizens BaronIveagh wrote:Basically they went from a carrot and stick to a smaller carrot and flanged mace. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/26 01:49:30
Subject: Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Co'tor Shas, The nature of the debate is akin to the other long running one: Do "Re-Roll To Hit of 1's" trigger "models able to Re-Roll To Hit can do X?" What DirtyDeeds is pointing to is an update in the supplement, where the piece of war-gear is found, which thumbs it's nose at that whole debate by making it legal regardless. I do not have that Supplement at the moment, which is really sad because I have a few ideas based on this piece of war-gear, so I can not verify this update for myself. However if it does clearly state that the Earth Caste Piloting Array can re-roll Get Hot rolls of 1 on Blast Weapons then it is a moot point as they can Re-Roll Get Hot regardless of the wording on page 418 and the very different interpretations of it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/26 01:52:44
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/26 02:02:59
Subject: Re:Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
Wise Ethereal with Bodyguard
Catskills in NYS
|
Yeah, I know, but most people if they see this (as long as they are reasonable) will probably assume that you can re-roll the gets hot.
Edit:This is the wargear's rules in question, in case you wanted it.
Models with battlesuits only. The model rerolls all rolls of 1 To Hit in the Shooting phase, and may re-roll the dice when using a Nova Reactor. However, their Weapon Skill is 1.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/26 02:05:01
Homosexuality is the #1 cause of gay marriage.
kronk wrote:Every pizza is a personal sized pizza if you try hard enough and believe in yourself.
sebster wrote:Yes, indeed. What a terrible piece of cultural imperialism it is for me to say that a country shouldn't murder its own citizens BaronIveagh wrote:Basically they went from a carrot and stick to a smaller carrot and flanged mace. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/26 02:23:18
Subject: Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
Minnesota, land of 10,000 Lakes and 10,000,000,000 Mosquitos
|
DirtyDeeds wrote:There is a rule clarification on this matter in the digital version of the farsight supplement. You can use the ecpa for gets hot on blasts Which is fine and dandy if you have the digital version, but my physical copy doesn't auto-update. By any chance, can you read off what it says exactly in there? I don't have access to a digital version, and of course, my question doesn't show up in the FAQ on GW's site (the only thing in there is a clarification on The Eight and how to take them). If that's really in there, it will solve all my problems.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/26 02:23:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/26 10:20:15
Subject: Rerolling 1s to hit and Gets Hot!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You can indeed reroll gets hot. The rule for rerolling gets hot requires you to have the ability to reroll you to-hit dice; it does not require you to have any specifically "good" ability to reroll; just a reroll.
Rerolling 1s to hit is the ability to reroll your to hit
Rerolling all failed to hits is the ability to reroll your to hit
Rerolling all 3s, but only on every third sunday in the month, is the ability to reroll to hit as long as you are on the 3rd sunday of the month, otherwise you do not have that ability
Pure RAW
|
|
 |
 |
|