Switch Theme:

outflanking  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi Everyone, I'm hoping someone can help me out with a debate me and friend is having in regards to outflank rule.

His Tyranids has an outflank rule. So on the 2nd turn from reserves, he rolled a D6 and he got 5. According to the rule book you can choose any sides if you hit 5 or 6. So he chose left side. We were playing hammer and anvil type of deployment, where the short edges is the deployment zones of each player (pg 119). The way he deployed his models coming in from reserve for out flank is he deployed them in my deployment zone on his left side but my right side of the long edge of the table basically coming in from behind me and started to assault me.

When I read the rule book I didn't think this was allowed or correct. The following is what I got off the rule book.

Under page 124 (reserves) it says When a reserves unit arrives, (in bold) it must move fully ionto the table from the controlling player's own table edge (maps and diagram on page 119) we were playing hammer and anvil. Then it says models arriving by deep striek or outflank deploy using their special rules. So I went to page 40 for the outflank special rule.

There it says when outflanking unit arrives from reserves, the controlling players rolls a D6, on a 1-2, the unit comes in from the table edge to the left of their controlling players own table edge, 3-4 right, 5-6 you choose. So if I'm reading everything correctly, he is NOT allowed to come in from the side of the table from my end on my deployment zone, but has to come from his side of the table from his deployment zone on his edge of the table is that correct?

I'm hoping someone who's familiar with the game can answer my question. Thanks,
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Central Oregon

This isnt the correct section, but the answer is he played it correctly. You roll for which edge then you can basically treat it as your deployment edge. He isnt allowed to assault when they come on, but may shoot or run.

If you were limited to your deployment zone it would be a pretty silly ability. It is, after all, called "Outflank".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/28 11:10:59


   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You have your deployment edge, in thsi case the short edge. You then have two long edges, and the opponents deployment short edge

On a 1 - 2 in Hammer and anvil they come in on the left LONG HAND edge, 2 - 4hte RIGHT one, on a 5-6 their choice

Remember it species the sides in relation to the deployment edge, which means it swaps from short side in basic 12" deployment to the long sides in H&A

It allows you to deploy from anywhere along the edge you end up on. You are NOT limited to just that in your own table half, etc.

Remember you CANNOT assault if you arrive from reserves, unless you have a specific rule stating otherwise

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/28 13:15:37


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: