Switch Theme:

Can you take a regular shield if you choose a magic weapon? Also, impacts hit vs characters in unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So two questions:

1) the 8th edition rules state that if you have a magic weapon who cant take a shield to gain the parry save. However, can you buy the shield to gain the +1 save? Seems a bit off that having a magic weapon would remove all use of a shield.

2) FAQ 1.8 from april 2013 states that characters cannot use look out sir vs impact hits. The written brb rule previously stated that impact hits are distributed as shooting. So with the new rule, does a chariot touching the base f a character that is in a unit have the ability to apply the impact hits now vs the characters? How does this work, because I thought the distribution as per shooting was giving the look out sir, and if they cant use it.....well how do you determine this now? Thx
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block




1) yes you still get the +1 to your save from having the shield, just no parry

2)Impact hits as resolved as from shooting, so it doesnt matter if the chariot hits the character model.
Also LoS is used against template hits, not regular shooting attacks
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So all the chariot impact hits would be applied how in the following scenarios:

1) chariot base touches both a character and at least on infantry model.

2) chariot hits only character models where several character are lined together in the frontage, ie 2-3 characters lined up like a Bret lance formation, or vs a standard unit where say multiple charges only allowed a second charge in where the chariot is only touching a character (or characters) placed on the front /corner and no infantry are touched, even diagonally.

Thanks
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They are distributed as shooting, to which LOS cannot be used to defend against. Mainly because until you have less than 5 rnf left for normal infantry you cannot hit a character at all.
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: