| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 15:59:40
Subject: Ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
Quick question. Having a discussion about how a unit can be deployed during ongoing reserves. Take mawlocs for example. Drops in, kills things but has to auto mishap. Roll and get placed into ongoing reserves. How is it allowed to return to the field?
So the rules for ongoing reserves state that the unit always re enters but has to follow the rules of reserves. Now I was informed that it has to walk onto the board because it was not allowed to re enter via deep strike. Trying to find this in the rules but no such luck was wondering if anyone could help me see what I might be missing.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 16:07:06
Subject: Ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It was iN DS reserves initally, so still DS back in again from ongoing reserves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 16:17:05
Subject: Re:Ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
Thanks for the quick response.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/08 00:20:13
Subject: Re:Ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
You declare when entering ongoing reserves how the unit will be deployed and enter play using that method on your next turn, just like when placing a model in reserves normally (except without the roll and you can't outflank).
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/08 00:21:21
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/08 00:52:02
Subject: Ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
-You started in Reserves
-You are in Reserves
-You have a rule that lets you deep strike
Ergo, you can deep strike.
Take a look at Swooping Hawks. They can deepstrike, leave the table, then deepstrike again.
It is worth noting for other cases, that RAW, you are required to start the game in Reserves to Deep Strike. Matters for Hawks, because technically the rules state that the model must start the game in Reserves (never seen it played that way though).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/08 05:01:12
Subject: Ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
There are three criteria for Deep Striking per the SR:
1. Every model in the unit must have the Deep Strike rule.
2. The unit must start the game in reserve.
3. You must declare they are Deep Striking when they are placed in reserve.
-Page 36, BRB
So technically if a unit starts in reserves it could declare DS at any time it goes into reserves but... is going into ongoing reserves the sames as going into reserves?
Page 125, BRB , first line of ongoing reserves says it is "If a unit enters reserve part way through the game, such as a Flyer
leaving the battlefield, this is referred to as entering Ongoing Reserves"
But then it says "follow the normal rules for Reserves". Is Deep Strike 'normal' reserves?
Yes, the "normal" rules for reserves specifically mention it as an alternative to moving in from the board edge.
"Models that are arriving by Deep strike or Outflank deploy using their special rules" page 124, BRB, Arriving from Reserve
So yes, per RAW, if a unit with the Deep Strike SR starts the game in reserve, then at some point in the game goes back into ongoing reserves, it may Deep Strike...
Note: Most people I play with skip the 'having to start the game in reserve' part feeling it makes little sense... I tend to agree.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/08 06:09:33
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/09 17:47:32
Subject: Ongoing reserves.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Abandon wrote:
"Models that are arriving by Deep strike or Outflank deploy using their special rules" page 124, BRB, Arriving from Reserve
I have noticed that this line has been removed from the new 7th edition rule book. Does that change the ability to deep strike after a mishap?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|