Switch Theme:

Destroying an assault vehicle...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




2 Questions about vehicles...

1) If you wreck an Assault vehicle during your shooting phase, would the occupants be able to assault you in their next turn?

If I'm reading the rules correctly the answer is no, but I wanted to hear others opinion.

Support for my opinion:
BRB pg 80 Wrecked: The passengers must disembark in the usual manner...

So we go look up how that works...

BRB pg 79 After disembaring, models can shoot, ... but cannot declare a charge in their subsequent Assault phase.

So obviously in a normal wreck the units can't assault during their next phase, whether it's on the current player turn or the next one.

So we go to the rules for Assault vehicles rule to see if it overrides that...

BRB pg 33 Assault Vehicle. Passengers disembarking from Access Points on a vehicle with this special rule can charge on the turn they do so, even on a turn that the vehicle was destroyed.

Since this gives explicit permission to charge 'on the turn they do so (disembark). And according to BRB pg 9 Whenever a rule refers to 'a turn' it always means 'player turn' unless it specifically refers to a 'game turn'.

So if I read all these rules correctly, Assault vehicle gives you permission to assault on the same player turn the vehicle is wrecked, but since 'their subsequent Assault phase" is on the following player turn, the Assault vehicle rule doesn't apply, and you are left with the standard rules of disembarking, which are no assault.


Don't know if this is RAI, but RAW seem pretty clear, unless I'm missing something.

2) the Explodes result says: "Surviving passengers are placed where the vehicle used to be...." Since it says models are placed, instead of referring in any way to disembarking, does this mean if a vehicle blows up around a unit, they can assault freely the next turn as since no disembarkation happened, none of the above referenced rules would ever come into effect?
   
Made in se
Glorious Lord of Chaos






The burning pits of Hades, also known as Sweden in summer

FAQ'd.

They can assault.

Currently ongoing projects:
Horus Heresy Alpha Legion
Tyranids  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Brb FAQ. Yes they can still assault.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Gotcha... that's what I get for using the search function on the FAQ instead of re-reading it. For some reason the pdf wouldn't jump to

Q: If a unit disembarks from a
destroyed vehicle
during the
enemy turn, can it
Charge
in the Assault phase of its own
turn? (p80)
A: No, unless the vehicle in question was an Assault
Vehicle.

when I searched for Assault vehicle.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: