Switch Theme:

Catacomb Command Barge Preventing Overwatch  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





I encountered this situation last night and am not certain which way to play it (we rolled for it).

The Necron Catacomb Command Barge is a Chariot - thus can charge into combat yet is not tied down to combat.

If a Necron player charges a unit with his CCB - can the receiving unit fire overwatch when the necron player charges with them with a second unit?


Put another way
- Necron Overlord on CCB charges a unit of Ork Shoota Boyz
- Boyz opt to not overwatch
- CCB makes charge distance
- Necron Wraiths charge the same unit of boyz
- Can the boyz fire overwatch against the Wraiths?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/12 19:55:47


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Yes, as the boyz are not ever locked in combat with the chariot, regardless of when units get locked (it is disagreed on whether they are locked the moment a model is in base contact (which causes further issues with the rules), or once the following Fight sub-phase begins).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







While the chariot is not tied down in combat in the following turn, I do believe the unit being charged by the chariot is until the chariot breaks off, so I do not think the assaulted unit can overwatch a second charging unit since its already engaged with the chariot.

Unless there is some caveat about chariots being engaged in combat, not sure, don't have the rule book with me at the moment.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Units cannot be locked in combat with non-walker vehicles. Therefore, if a unit is in base contact with a chariot, they are allowed to attack it, but are not locked in combat with it. Since the only restriction (that matters in this discussion) is that you cannot fire Overwatch if locked in combat, and you are not locked in combat, Overwatch is OK.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





 Happyjew wrote:
Units cannot be locked in combat with non-walker vehicles. Therefore, if a unit is in base contact with a chariot, they are allowed to attack it, but are not locked in combat with it. Since the only restriction (that matters in this discussion) is that you cannot fire Overwatch if locked in combat, and you are not locked in combat, Overwatch is OK.


Reviewing the BRB and FAQ (page 82), this is how I interpret such as well - just confirming I guess.
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

Don't the chariot rules say the unit charged is considered to be in base contact with the embarked model as well as the chariot?

How is the charged unit not locked since they are not only in contact with a vehicle, but also a infantry model?


insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I am going off memory as well, but if I remember right the rider counts as 'in base contact' only for a small list of purposes and I do not think locked in combat is one of them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/13 01:39:17


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

JinxDragon wrote:
I am going off memory as well, but if I remember right the rider counts as 'in base contact' only for a small list of purposes and I do not think locked in combat is one of them.


That's right. He's in base contact only for the purpose of attacking and being attacked by models that are in base contact with the chariot.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: