Switch Theme:

Vindicare Assassin and Imperial Knights  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Can he strip it's invulnerable save?
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout



Rynn's World

I do not have their book, but if the invun is classed under their wargear, then i would say yes he can strip it with a shieldbreaker round.

: 3000+
: 2000+
: 2000+
 
   
Made in dk
Tail Gunner





valace2 wrote:
Can he strip it's invulnerable save?


Can you allocate a wound to the Knight?
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




In the ebook I have, the Ion Shield is listed as Wargear, and the Vindicare's rule is that it looses its invul save granted by wargear, so I would say yes. no your not causing a "wound" but i'd give it to ya!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/13 13:34:42


 
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






You don't need to allocate a wound to strip the invul save, you just need to hit the target model.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 CrashCanuck wrote:
You don't need to allocate a wound to strip the invul save, you just need to hit the target model.

Not checking the FAQ at the moment, a "wound" does need to be allocated to it to activate the rule.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 CrashCanuck wrote:
You don't need to allocate a wound to strip the invul save, you just need to hit the target model.


They might have to FAQ it, if entropic strike doesn't strip it's armour I don't know if the Vindicare can strip it's save.

Seeing as how the Vindicare has set a precedent by being the only thing to negate Look Out Sir maybe he can strip that invulnerable save.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Using a shieldbreaker simply requires a Hit to negate any inv save provided by wargear. Fairly certain the Ion Shield is a piece of wargear.

You dont get to lower AV because the rules for I. B. state you cannot. This is nothing to do with AV.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




nosferatu1001 wrote:
Using a shieldbreaker simply requires a Hit to negate any inv save provided by wargear. Fairly certain the Ion Shield is a piece of wargear.

You dont get to lower AV because the rules for I. B. state you cannot. This is nothing to do with AV.


Made it a point to mention entropic strike because it permanently affects the vehicle, are there other units that can do that? I am pretty sure the Vindicare is unique, and maybe they simply overlooked it. The concept is the same, stripping is stripping.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Codex: Grey Knights wrote:"...when a wound from this round is allocated to a model..."


It's wound, not hit. After all, hits are not allocated. Wounds are.
Can't see an FAQ that's changed this.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/13 13:53:48


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Hmm, true, thought it was a hit but of course that doesnt work.
So no, ou dont get to Shield break a Knight
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






GW's FAQ on ++ saves on vehicles specifically calls out that wounds = glances/pen hits...



so do we need GW to FAQ that change for ALL effects from all sources, or is GW FAQ'ing it once is enough....

I mean, the only reason your vehicle GETS a ++ save, is because GW FAQ'ed wounds to equal glance/pens hits on vehicles....

so yes, shield breaker works on this... for the same reason you get a ++ in the first place


from the faq
"Invulnerable saves are
different to armour saves because they may always be taken
whenever the model suffers a Wound or, in the case of vehicles,
suffers a penetrating or glancing hit – the Armour Piercing"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/13 19:18:04


 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






I would acctually put forth, that if the vindicare hit a facing in which the ion shield was not covering, that he would not strip it.



Whilst not strictly RAW, I am highly under the impression that RAI he would not strip the invunerable if he hit an unprotected facing since shooting vehicles does indeed rely on facing.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




 easysauce wrote:
GW's FAQ on ++ saves on vehicles specifically calls out that wounds = glances/pen hits...


So if a wound is the same as a glance/pen then all the Vindicare has to do is beat the AV of the Knight. Can he do it with his gun?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Spetulhu wrote:
So if a wound is the same as a glance/pen then all the Vindicare has to do is beat the AV of the Knight. Can he do it with his gun?
Just.

Even if we assume that glances/pens equate to wounds...
It's a sniper rifle. Meaning it counts as Str.3 for Pen.
You'd have to be on the side or rear, and get a 6 for pen followed by a 3 Rending. Just to cause a glance.

Honestly you'd be better off just going for the Turbo-penetrator.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/13 19:44:16


 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






yeah, you would have to score the pen/glance...

so really a moot point as even with 3+6+3 you only can get 12...

so while technically possible, you are never ever gonna get this off, you are better off with turbo pen.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Spetulhu wrote:
 easysauce wrote:
GW's FAQ on ++ saves on vehicles specifically calls out that wounds = glances/pen hits...


So if a wound is the same as a glance/pen then all the Vindicare has to do is beat the AV of the Knight. Can he do it with his gun?

A wound is not the same as a glance/pen in all cases.

If it were then Shred, from lightning claws and the like, would get to reroll failed pen rolls...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Easysauce,
The Frequently Asked Question answer you posted here is not enough to make Wounds identical to Penetration/Glancing Results. Prior to the Errata, and it is proper Errata for a change, vehicles lacked the ability to take Invulnerability saves because Wounds and Glance/Penetration Results are handled differently by the rules. This Errata granted the ability to take invulnerability saves from Penetration/Glances not by making Wounds identical to Glance/Penetration Results, but by simply stating that vehicles can take invulnerability against Penetration/Glance Results.

Actually, I would state the inclusion of Glance/Penetration Results to the Invulnerability rules is evidence that the two are still not identical.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: