Switch Theme:

Barrage Weapon -VS- Jink Cover Save  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger





Hello wargamers! Quick question that popped up in a game.

A barrage template weapon hits a skimmer tank/jetbike etc.. does it gets its cover save? This is assuming the unit is in open terrain.

I assumed no. Because barrage takes cover from the center of the blast and there would be none to benefit from.

Your thoughts please


It is the rule in war, if ten times the enemy's strength, surround them; if five times, attack them; if double, be able to divide them; if equal, engage them; if fewer, be able to evade them; if weaker, be able to avoid them. - Sun Tzu  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes. The unit has a 5+ cover save through Jink, and no matter where you count as firing from for te purpose of cover saves, they will still have that 5+ cover save.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






skimmers get jink saves just from moving. barrage only denies cover gained from LOS.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





As above jink is a cover save for moving and doesn't care if you are 100% visible to the enemy. The barrage just counts cover from the centre it does not ignore cover if the shot came from the blast jink would therefore still apply.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee





Yes, barrage doesn't ignore cover. It changes LOS such that you rarely have intervening terrain to give cover. Jink is independent of terrain, and thus still applies.
   
Made in mx
Morphing Obliterator





Mexico

For it to ignore cover it needs to have the "ignores cover" rule besides the barrage, just like the IG Colossus.

CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
 
   
Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger





Thanks guys pretty clear now


It is the rule in war, if ten times the enemy's strength, surround them; if five times, attack them; if double, be able to divide them; if equal, engage them; if fewer, be able to evade them; if weaker, be able to avoid them. - Sun Tzu  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: