Switch Theme:

Puppet master and Riptides.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan






I have a friend who plays tau. On average he takes 2-3 Riptides and 1 is always O'vesa. Now this is obviously a massive pain in my ass. However I have just discovered the delight of daemon flying circuses. And I think if I can grab puppet master I'll be laughing. No longer will I have to match his gun when I can just use his gun. Here's where the unsurity starts.

If I puppet master a riptide do I:

a) just get to use the gun as is with no modifications. Bog standard ion accelerator for example

OR

b) get to nova charge the riptide first and then drop instant death pie plates of doom on his suits?

I'd like some opinions, but more importantly some written references. Because if I CAN nova charge it, he's going to argue with me and want to see where it says it?!

You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them  
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






The Nova Reactor is used at the start of Movement phase, and since you use Puppet Master in the Shooting phase you can't do it yourself. (see page 45 of Tau Codex)

It also lasts until its next Movement phase so if your opponent used the Nova-charge...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/23 08:09:06


Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Khaine's Wrath wrote:
I have a friend who plays tau. On average he takes 2-3 Riptides and 1 is always O'vesa. Now this is obviously a massive pain in my ass. However I have just discovered the delight of daemon flying circuses. And I think if I can grab puppet master I'll be laughing. No longer will I have to match his gun when I can just use his gun. Here's where the unsurity starts.

If I puppet master a riptide do I:

a) just get to use the gun as is with no modifications. Bog standard ion accelerator for example

OR

b) get to nova charge the riptide first and then drop instant death pie plates of doom on his suits?

I'd like some opinions, but more importantly some written references. Because if I CAN nova charge it, he's going to argue with me and want to see where it says it?!


Nova charge is done at the start of the movement phase, so no you don't get to Nova Charge.

However, it lasts until the start of his next movement phase, so if he Nova Charges on his turn to fire the pie-plate of death you get to fire it as well.
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan






Ok, awesome. So, if he nova charges his weapons, I get to as well? If he doesn't I can't?

Here's another similar question, as the riptide is a monstrous creature, does that mean I can use him to fire as many shots as he is normally allowed to? i.e with a riptide could I fire 2 weapons?

You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, you fire with that model as if it were your own, so you can fire two weapons
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan






Super. Sweet.

You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them  
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






A common misconception with the riptide is that it has to nova-charge to shoot the pie-plate. The ion weapons (and in fact, all ion weapons of the Tau) can overcharge (different from nova-charge) to shoot a slightly stronger blast instead of the normal number of shots. This also makes the weapon get hot. The nova-charge profile is unique to the riptide and will only be able to be puppet mastered if the Tau player elected to nova-charge the main weapon on the suit. If the Riptide elected to ripple fire the secondary weapon you only get to shoot it once, as it states fires twice in the next shooting phase. Also, if the ion weapon is nova charged, you cannot fire any other weapons the Riptide may have, as the weapon becomes ordnance. I hope this information helped.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Apart from the last. You snap fire all other weapons when firing ordnance.
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




nosferatu1001 wrote:
Apart from the last. You snap fire all other weapons when firing ordnance.


Incorrect. Vehicles firing ordnance snap fire their other weapons, infantry models may not fire any other weapons. Pg 51, second half of the second paragraph under ordnance weapons.

As an MC the riptide can move before, and charge after firing, but the relentless rule does not override the restriction on only firing the ordnance weapon.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Nor does the Multi-Tracker, just in case someone wants to raise that argument again.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in ca
Trustworthy Shas'vre




Then again, if you are firing the nova-plate, do you need to fire the rest?

Tau and Space Wolves since 5th Edition. 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan






Is this genuine? If he nova charges he can't fire another weapon? Damn it I've fallen foul of that one then!

You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them  
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Only for the Ion Accelerator, as it is an ordnance weapon on a non-vehicle model.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/23 14:07:09


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Fair enough, forgot that was one of the few "cannot fire" left in 6th edition, thanks for the clarification of my error
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan






He's tried to argue that the suit system that allows them to fire 2 weapons. But he's now conceded that the ordinance rule supersedes that. Sweet. No more nova charged ion accelerator followed by fusion blaster...

You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them  
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

So he will just overcharge instead of nova charge it and it will still be Str8 ap2 large blast and he will still fire the second weapon. Not losing out much by not nova charging the ion accelerator.

insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: