| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2005/11/23 13:37:06
Subject: Miasma of Pestilence
|
 |
Troubled By Non-Compliant Worlds
|
Question about the Chaos Demon power Miasma of Pestilence. This is a blessing which, while in effect, enemies in close combat with the psyker or his unit get -D3 to Weapon Skill and Initiative. So, first question is that if an enemy unit fails a fear test and has it's WS reduced to 1, will the effects of MoP reduce this to zero, meaning the unit is hit automatically and cannot strike back?
Secondly, what happens if there are two different psykers are in the a unit which both have MoP active (e.g a unit with two heralds who have both cast MoP on themselves)? I know there are loads of threads on whether or not psychic powers stack or not, but this seems a bit different. The MoP is a blessing which results in a debuff, and it's not the case that it's stacking twice on the same psyker - its two separate blessings on two different psykers. The debuff it grants isn't a malediction (there's no chance to DTW or anything) so is there any reason the two wouldn't stack? And again, if it did stack, could it potentially reduce WS to 0, and therefore end up with enemies that can't hit back? (I know that the main FAQ limits the init debuff to 1, but couldn't see anything to prevent WS going to 0).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/23 14:14:08
Subject: Miasma of Pestilence
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Rules inform us how to modify Characteristics state that 'set' modifiers are applied last, after any subtraction or addition, so without looking closer at the rule I would advise page 2... I think it is 2. The second question needs more research and debate then I can give it from this terminal, to confirm if it states such things as 'can stack with itself' or to see the order of application and if there is overlap. Needless to say, the underlining debate occurring in other threads would also have to be considered in presenting any answers found as one side will protest regardless.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/23 14:15:49
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/01 15:11:44
Subject: Miasma of Pestilence
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Page 2, as noted. Set modifier - WS1 - is applied after the -D3.
Asfor the second one - -D3 followed by -D3 is indeed -2D3, so does stack. Without an FAQ or rule otherwise it could indeed drop the enemy to WS0
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/23 15:17:12
Subject: Miasma of Pestilence
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Don't the rules for blessings and Maledictions specify they cannot drop a stat to less than 1?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/23 15:25:56
Subject: Miasma of Pestilence
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
I believe that restriction is found bundled into Modifying Characteristic rules themselves, though most have permission to be modified to 0 but not below. The vast majority of Rules that I have vague memory of all have additional 'no going below 1' restrictions built into them as well. Maybe Maldictions do have the same restriction built into them by default, I would expect an Eldar player to have better memory of the Psyker Rules then a Tau player, but I can't seem to pull the required sentence to mind. All I know, it is another thing to add to the list of research material to do when I have time.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/03/23 15:31:50
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/23 17:31:59
Subject: Miasma of Pestilence
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yeah you minus two separate d3 rolls as per page 68 you can't modify any stat above 10 or below 1.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|