Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/24 14:34:10
Subject: Refuse a challenge, round 2
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Please help me find the rule I am missing...
Assume the following:
A daemon prince assaults a command squad of marines and a commander.
The daemon prince issues a challenge.
The space marine player refuses the challenge and the commander, being the only eligible recipient, must sit out the first turn of combat.
Blows are struck, the results are tied, and the assault will continue to a second turn.
Assuming the challenge was not reissued, can the space marine commander strike blows in the second turn of assault?
|
Dear Games Workshop,
Paper is totally over powered! I can't believe how badly you guys screwed up. Why can't you make armies balanced, like Scissors? I quit!
Rock |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/24 14:41:06
Subject: Re:Refuse a challenge, round 2
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Yes.
You only sit out of combat on the turn the challenge was declined.
|
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/24 14:47:13
Subject: Refuse a challenge, round 2
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
...meaning the Daemon Prince can issue another challenge, if it wishes, giving the CC the chance to accept or stand out again.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/24 14:50:59
Subject: Refuse a challenge, round 2
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:...meaning the Daemon Prince can issue another challenge, if it wishes, giving the CC the chance to accept or stand out again.
That is true, however:
mastershou wrote:Assuming the challenge was not reissued, can the space marine commander strike blows in the second turn of assault?
Emphasis mine.
|
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/24 19:51:44
Subject: Refuse a challenge, round 2
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Just reissue and keep him out the combat. He still can be wounded.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/24 19:53:10
Subject: Refuse a challenge, round 2
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
mastershou wrote:A daemon prince assaults a command squad of marines and a commander.
The daemon prince issues a challenge.
So, the actual question has been answered, but for clarity it's possibly also worth noting that in the above example, unless the daemon prince was placed in base contact with the commander or a marine model within 2" of him, the Captain would have been unable to accept the challenge anyway. You have to be engaged both to issue and challenge and to accept them. So you can very easily wind up in situations where units consisting of a single character are unable to challenge on the first turn of the combat.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/24 19:53:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 02:29:20
Subject: Refuse a challenge, round 2
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
insaniak wrote:mastershou wrote:A daemon prince assaults a command squad of marines and a commander.
The daemon prince issues a challenge.
So, the actual question has been answered, but for clarity it's possibly also worth noting that in the above example, unless the daemon prince was placed in base contact with the commander or a marine model within 2" of him, the Captain would have been unable to accept the challenge anyway. You have to be engaged both to issue and challenge and to accept them. So you can very easily wind up in situations where units consisting of a single character are unable to challenge on the first turn of the combat.
Wouldn't the character still have to pile in on his initiative step? After all, if he wasn't engaged in the 1st round, he wouldn't have to decline a challenge and could still get some hits in. If he declined the challenge, that would mean the character IS engaged and so could be challenged in the 2nd round as well. The pile in on the 1st round makes it less likely for the character to not be engaged for the 2nd round, but I suppose it is still possible.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/26 06:14:13
Subject: Refuse a challenge, round 2
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I wasn't talking about the second round. I was talking about the initial challenge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|