Switch Theme:

Models Charging Always Take Shortest Route Possible?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Ok, so this is probably a stupid question but RAW seemed ambiguous to me.

Was playing a game against a Necron player. He had a squad of Lychguard attempting to charge my Dire Avengers. The initlal charger could make a charge onto the unit without having to go through difficult terrain. There were some models in the unit that would have to pass through difficult terrain to make the most direct approach into the assault, even though the initial charging model didn't. I am correct in saying that because some of the models had to pass through difficult terrain for the most direct route to the nearest enemy model, that the unit had to make a 3d6 charge roll as opposed to 2d6 even though the initial charger was not in, and didn't have to pass thru, difficult terrain to make the charge. This is correct is it not?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Disregard...Found the answer in FAQ

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/24 16:35:37


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Yes if any one of the models has to go through terrain it's 3d6 drop the highest.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in ca
Deadly Dire Avenger




Canada

A related question:

If I have a squad of 10 guardians positioned 3" away from an enemy tactical squad and roll 10" for my charge range, may I move the "non-initial" chargers a full 10" to surround the enemies and get more units into base to base contact?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Given that you have to move into base contact where possible, that's not only allowed but required by the assault rules.

 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

IVII wrote:
A related question:

If I have a squad of 10 guardians positioned 3" away from an enemy tactical squad and roll 10" for my charge range, may I move the "non-initial" chargers a full 10" to surround the enemies and get more units into base to base contact?

Yes. In fact, you MUST do so. p.21, 2nd bullet, right hand side.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: