Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/30 04:43:53
Subject: Synapse (Feed) - charging the nearest "viable" model.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I played a game today, and My opponent had mephiston and a Land Raider. My Hormagaunts were outside of synapse, failed their synapse leadership test. They rolled a 4. In the assault phase, the Land Raider was closer (5 inches) than Mephiston (6 inches), but I felt like it was not a "Viable" target, because the HGaunts couldn't hurt it. Is that the correct interpretation, or should I have charged the Land Raider that I couldn't hurt?
The specific rule is:
Devour: In the Shooting phase, the unit cannot shoot or Run. In the Assault phase, if the unit is able to declare a charge, it must do so against the closest viable enemy unit. If the unit cannot declare a charge, it does nothing in the Assault phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/30 04:48:47
Subject: Synapse (Feed) - charging the nearest "viable" model.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
As they are forbidden from charging the Land Raider by the vehicle rules (pg.76, Charging a Vehicle, last sentence) Mephiston is the only viable target.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/30 08:49:53
Subject: Synapse (Feed) - charging the nearest "viable" model.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
I agree with Chrysis.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/30 08:50:40
Subject: Synapse (Feed) - charging the nearest "viable" model.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Chrysis is correct, both in statement and reasoning.
You are not allowed to charge the land raider thus it is not viable. the same would go for the nearest unit being greater than 12" away.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/30 13:25:37
Subject: Synapse (Feed) - charging the nearest "viable" model.
|
 |
Dusty Skeleton
|
Wouldn't the FAQ change that? Just because you can't hurt it, doesn't mean it's not a viable target.
Q: Can I charge an enemy unit that I can’t hurt? (p20)
A: Yes.
I imagine it's worded like that so you're not forced to charge a flyer or a unit in impassible terrain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/30 13:26:54
Subject: Synapse (Feed) - charging the nearest "viable" model.
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
tallguynsc wrote:Wouldn't the FAQ change that? Just because you can't hurt it, doesn't mean it's not a viable target.
Q: Can I charge an enemy unit that I can’t hurt? (p20)
A: Yes.
I imagine it's worded like that so you're not forced to charge a flyer or a unit in impassible terrain.
This applies to non-vehicles
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/30 13:37:00
Subject: Synapse (Feed) - charging the nearest "viable" model.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
You can charge a unit you can't hurt, unless a more specific rule says you can't.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/30 13:42:49
Subject: Synapse (Feed) - charging the nearest "viable" model.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
tallguynsc wrote:Wouldn't the FAQ change that? Just because you can't hurt it, doesn't mean it's not a viable target.
Q: Can I charge an enemy unit that I can’t hurt? (p20)
A: Yes.
I imagine it's worded like that so you're not forced to charge a flyer or a unit in impassible terrain.
A vehicle unit is more specific than a generic unit. The more specific rule would override this faq
|
|
 |
 |
|