Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/31 04:43:36
Subject: Deep Strike Question
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
|
So, I have heard a bit from my FLGS group, but can only half your army be in deep strike reserve ?
Only wondering cause I would love to try to do my Drop IG again with the Forge world rules or the Temptus rules
|
Hydra Dominatus
World Wide War Winner |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/31 04:45:16
Subject: Deep Strike Question
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Some rules have exceptions. Like Elysians for example. The exceptions im aware of are usually half your army must deep strike on turn one. But elysians are for you currently if you want massed deep striking. We dont know what to expect in tempestus rules yet though. But yea most codices are half your army only.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/31 04:45:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/31 04:49:33
Subject: Re:Deep Strike Question
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Half your army, rounding up, not including things that must start in reserves.
I recommend going over the Reserves rules on page 124.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/31 05:17:45
Subject: Deep Strike Question
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
A few things to consider:
-If a unit is embarked on a dedicated transport that must start in reserves, the whole unit (including any independent characters attached to it) does not count against your total allowed in reserves. Example: Space Marines could all be in drop pods.
-You lose if at the end of any GAME turn you have no models on the table. This means you would need to have something that can come in from reserves turn one (a la drop pod assault).
-As you round up to determine half your army, you could have one unit that doesn't HAVE to start in reserves, and still deep strike it or whatever.
If you can get going second, then this essentially denies your enemy from getting to shoot at you turn 1. Mean!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/31 05:57:08
Subject: Deep Strike Question
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Leonus wrote:-If a unit is embarked on a dedicated transport that must start in reserves, the whole unit (including any independent characters attached to it) does not count against your total allowed in reserves. Example: Space Marines could all be in drop pods.
It doesn't have to be a dedicated transport to do this. Just embarking on an transport that mandates being reserves will do this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/31 11:03:58
Subject: Deep Strike Question
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
CrownAxe wrote: Leonus wrote:-If a unit is embarked on a dedicated transport that must start in reserves, the whole unit (including any independent characters attached to it) does not count against your total allowed in reserves. Example: Space Marines could all be in drop pods.
It doesn't have to be a dedicated transport to do this. Just embarking on an transport that mandates being reserves will do this.
Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so. A unit and its Dedicated Transport are counted as a single unit for these purposes. Independent Characters are also counted as a single unit regardless of whether they have joined another unit or not.
The unit that embarks on a "must reserve" transport would still count against the max units allowed in reserve, unless it is a dedicated transport. In this case they are considered one unit that is ignored, but only then. Also take note of the independent characters rule, as I was wrong about that part before. Unless the independent character has his own dedicated transport or the "must reserve" rule, he counts against the max in reserves.
If he is the only non-"must reserve" unit, then rounding half your units up to 1 would allow him to still be in a dedicated transport in reserves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/31 11:04:34
Subject: Deep Strike Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Check the FAQs, where this rule has been changed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/31 11:30:36
Subject: Deep Strike Question
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in
reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in
Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or
Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves?
(p124)
A: No
Interesting... that seems contradictory, but there it is. So any units put into a "must reserve" transport, including independent characters, are ignored.
|
|
 |
 |
|