Switch Theme:

Salamanders and Soul Blaze  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






State of Jefferson

Sooooo. Uh. Discuss.
Yesterday in an NCal "friendly tourney" of about 14 palyers, I was playing sallies (my 5th game with them). My opponent was CSM list. I was on fire. We asked the TO who is an unapologetic Salamander player ruled in my favor. I'm sure this has come up, i kinda felt like it was rules lawyering, so i still allowed my sallies to be on fire. Please update me so I'll know for the future. Plus. I'll text the TO with y'alls opinion. I lost regardless. Lol.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

What is your actual question?
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I would also like more information, why would Salamander's be immune to this Special Rule?

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

JinxDragon wrote:
I would also like more information, why would Salamander's be immune to this Special Rule?


Salamander's have an "anti-flame" rule as part of their chapter tactics. Although as far as I can recall it's limited to re-rolling failed saves caused by flamer weapons (as defined by the BGB).
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut





No rules that I am aware of to prevent you being affected by the Soul Blaze rule.

Only thing we get is the ability to reroll armour saves against Flamer type weapons, I believe this to mean any weapon you use a flamer template to determine amount of models hit.

Soul Blaze does not use a template.

Edit: Worth noting I am also a Salamanders player

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/01 00:22:24


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

JBrehaut wrote:
Only thing we get is the ability to reroll armour saves against Flamer type weapons, I believe this to mean any weapon you use a flamer template to determine amount of models hit.r


Flamer weapons are defined in the BRB (page 55 I think, around there). Not everything that uses a template is a flamer weapon.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in se
Glorious Lord of Chaos






The burning pits of Hades, also known as Sweden in summer

It's worth noting that Soul Blaze sets the soul aflame, not the body. Salamanders logically would be resistant to the latter but not the former.

Currently ongoing projects:
Horus Heresy Alpha Legion
Tyranids  
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

If the Soul Blaze wounds come from a weapon with the Template type, then why wouldn't the Salamanders get their re-rolls? Not every weapon is a Soul Blaze weapon, and not every weapon is a Template weapon, but if a weapon is both, it stands to reason that the Sallies would get re-rolls both against the initial wounds and any subsequent ones.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Jimsolo wrote:
If the Soul Blaze wounds come from a weapon with the Template type, then why wouldn't the Salamanders get their re-rolls? Not every weapon is a Soul Blaze weapon, and not every weapon is a Template weapon, but if a weapon is both, it stands to reason that the Sallies would get re-rolls both against the initial wounds and any subsequent ones.


Because Soul Blaze wounds don't come from a Flamer. The Chapter Tactics are very specific about what saves can be re-rolled, and Soul Blaze doesn't fall under that umbrella. They'd get to re-roll the initial saves from the shooting, but not any that Soul Blaze inflicts. If any, given how rubbish Soul Blaze is.
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Chrysis wrote:
 Jimsolo wrote:
If the Soul Blaze wounds come from a weapon with the Template type, then why wouldn't the Salamanders get their re-rolls? Not every weapon is a Soul Blaze weapon, and not every weapon is a Template weapon, but if a weapon is both, it stands to reason that the Sallies would get re-rolls both against the initial wounds and any subsequent ones.


Because Soul Blaze wounds don't come from a Flamer. The Chapter Tactics are very specific about what saves can be re-rolled, and Soul Blaze doesn't fall under that umbrella. They'd get to re-roll the initial saves from the shooting, but not any that Soul Blaze inflicts. If any, given how rubbish Soul Blaze is.


If they didn't come from the flamer that created them, then where did they come from? I'm not trying to be difficult, but I don't think I'm picking up what you're putting down.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Jimsolo wrote:
Chrysis wrote:
 Jimsolo wrote:
If the Soul Blaze wounds come from a weapon with the Template type, then why wouldn't the Salamanders get their re-rolls? Not every weapon is a Soul Blaze weapon, and not every weapon is a Template weapon, but if a weapon is both, it stands to reason that the Sallies would get re-rolls both against the initial wounds and any subsequent ones.


Because Soul Blaze wounds don't come from a Flamer. The Chapter Tactics are very specific about what saves can be re-rolled, and Soul Blaze doesn't fall under that umbrella. They'd get to re-roll the initial saves from the shooting, but not any that Soul Blaze inflicts. If any, given how rubbish Soul Blaze is.


If they didn't come from the flamer that created them, then where did they come from? I'm not trying to be difficult, but I don't think I'm picking up what you're putting down.


No, I get it. You're saying that because the reason we're following the rules for Soul Blaze is because they took a wound from a flamer, the re-roll saves for wounds from flamers should apply. Basically taking an extra step back on the cause.

I'm saying that doesn't even remotely work. The wounds that Soul Blaze causes are caused by Soul Blaze, not a flamer. By the time the wounds from Soul Blaze enter into it the initial, unsaved, wounds that applied it are long since resolved. There's nothing to connect the Soul Blaze wounds to a flamer any more than there is to connect them to my Thousand Sons boltguns. Not to mention that it's easily possible for a Tzeentch army to inflict Soul Blaze on the same unit from both Flamer and non-Flamer weapons in the same turn.
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Chrysis wrote:

There's nothing to connect the Soul Blaze wounds to a flamer any more than there is to connect them to my Thousand Sons boltguns.


It does have something to connect it to the flamer though, since the flamer is the vector by which the Soul Blaze rule got onto the unit. And if we had a special rule that let us re-roll armor saves against boltguns, I would say it should apply to the Soul Blaze wounds from Thousand Sons' shots.

Not to mention that it's easily possible for a Tzeentch army to inflict Soul Blaze on the same unit from both Flamer and non-Flamer weapons in the same turn.


Okay. If there are two sources of Soul Blaze on the unit, one of which did NOT originate from a flamer weapon, then the Salamanders don't get the rerolls. Fine by me. But if the only source of Soul Blaze was a weapon which would qualify for re-rollable armor saves, it seems to stand to reason--at least to me--that the saves could be re-rolled.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Jimsolo wrote:
Chrysis wrote:

There's nothing to connect the Soul Blaze wounds to a flamer any more than there is to connect them to my Thousand Sons boltguns.


It does have something to connect it to the flamer though, since the flamer is the vector by which the Soul Blaze rule got onto the unit. And if we had a special rule that let us re-roll armor saves against boltguns, I would say it should apply to the Soul Blaze wounds from Thousand Sons' shots.

Not to mention that it's easily possible for a Tzeentch army to inflict Soul Blaze on the same unit from both Flamer and non-Flamer weapons in the same turn.


Okay. If there are two sources of Soul Blaze on the unit, one of which did NOT originate from a flamer weapon, then the Salamanders don't get the rerolls. Fine by me. But if the only source of Soul Blaze was a weapon which would qualify for re-rollable armor saves, it seems to stand to reason--at least to me--that the saves could be re-rolled.


Which isn't supported by rules. At the end of the turn there is no Flamer firing, nor any Inferno Bolts, there is only Soul Blaze.
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Salamanders can reroll saves against wounds caused by flamer weapons.

Soul Blaze is a special rule, not a flamer weapon (regardless of what activated the special rule, SoulBlaze itself is NOT a flamer weapon).

Ergo, you do not get a reroll to your saves vs Soul Blaze.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Jimsolo, the Salamnder Tactics is very explicit on what they get a re-roll against. None of the Flamer weapons (as listed in the BRB) have the Soul Blaze special rule.

Strictly speaking, Terminators with Salamander CTs would not get to re-roll against a Baleflamer, as it is not a flamer weapon (as listed in the BRB).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: