Switch Theme:

Ramshackle and disembarkation distance  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Foolproof Falcon Pilot





Livingston, United Kingdom

Hey all,

A rules conundrum that arose at a tournament this weekend revolved around the Ramshackle rule for the Ork Trukk. The table says that the Orks inside "disembark" when it explodes. I had interpreted this as being a standard disembarkation, as per page 79 of the BRB, which meant that I got to go anywhere within 6". But some of my opponents were very dubious about this, and felt that I would follow the rules as written on page 80 of the BRB which specifies that when a vehicle is wrecked you move 3", and apply that to all three of the Ramshackle results. Not wanting to get into a big rules argument, we rolled off and both times I played with the 3".

So, what do you think of this issue? A google doesn't reveal much discussion on it, nor is it in the FAQ so possibly I'm just being contrary. But I feel that we are in the realms of codex overruling the BRB, in that by specifying a separate set of results instead of those from the BRB it negates all the elements of the BRB rules. Thus we would have no recourse to examine the main damage table, so we'd revert to the disembarkation distance specified under the more general option. Am I correct in this? It seems a bit stretched, now that I type it out...


Sources:

Codex Orks, page 41
BRB, pages 79-80
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Codex: Orks says "apply the result instead of the usual effects." So what the BRB has to say regarding "Vehicle Destroyed" or "Vehicle Explodes" and Transports is irrelevant.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






The problem is, the ork codex is really old. So alot of stuff in it are not caught up with the rest of 40k.


Many of the things in it will be changing with the update, hopefully for the better.

As of now, all you can do is go with your local groups agreement or the TO where you are playing.


If you think about it however, why would they make a normal disembarkation move, if their truck got destroyed with them in it (ignoring the fact that orks are definately not normal).

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Eihnlazer wrote:
The problem is, the ork codex is really old. So alot of stuff in it are not caught up with the rest of 40k.


That's like saying the Rune Priest 4+ denying psychic powers with in 24 inches shouldn't work because of how deny the witch works. No matter how cheesy the rule or old the codex; Codex trumps BRB. (with out appropriate FAQ's)
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above. You apply the result instead of the BRB result. As it states yu disembark, you do disembark 6".
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: