Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/02 17:17:38
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
These are just a few little things that either I was unsure about or couldn't find a ruling for in the BRB:
One, where does it say that you can only use Grenades in CC against Vehicles or Monstrous Creatures?
Two, can you shoot at a vehicle that you can't harm? (In this instance, he fired a flamer over my unit that was able to touch the vehicle, but not actually cause any damage to it.) I know you can't assault something you can't harm, but what's the ruling on shooting attacks?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/02 17:23:50
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
1. Check the rules for grenades.
2. Yes, however, remember with template weapons you must cover as much of the target as possible.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/02 17:27:06
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Cackling Chaos Conscript
|
Waaaghpower wrote: One, where does it say that you can only use Grenades in CC against Vehicles or Monstrous Creatures?
Its page 61 in the BRB
Two, can you shoot at a vehicle that you can't harm? (In this instance, he fired a flamer over my unit that was able to touch the vehicle, but not actually cause any damage to it.) I know you can't assault something you can't harm, but what's the ruling on shooting attacks?
Yep, you can, page 73 BRB. I mean its silly just to fire weapons which can never actually hurt something, but there is nothing to stop you being silly. Heh.
|
The Red Mist Legion- Renegade Chaos Space Marines
'Show those loyalist dogs that their masters send them to the slaughter!'
Iron Heads - Ork Warband
'Dat one put a dent in my iron hat humie!'
The Red Coats - Necromunda Gang
'A good kill Juve, but not worthy of a Red Coat yet'
The Masked Junkies - Necromunda Gang
'Fully automatic, a steel backed stock and more bullets then I know what to do with! Now thats a real gun.' |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/02 17:30:04
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
Not all weapons do damage, like the tau markerlight.
If you couldn't shoot something you can't damage, markerlights wouldn't work.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/02 17:36:22
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Cackling Chaos Conscript
|
BarBoBot wrote:Not all weapons do damage, like the tau markerlight.
If you couldn't shoot something you can't damage, markerlights wouldn't work.
Thats a fair point, I had forgetten about that. I was just thinking in the example given.
|
The Red Mist Legion- Renegade Chaos Space Marines
'Show those loyalist dogs that their masters send them to the slaughter!'
Iron Heads - Ork Warband
'Dat one put a dent in my iron hat humie!'
The Red Coats - Necromunda Gang
'A good kill Juve, but not worthy of a Red Coat yet'
The Masked Junkies - Necromunda Gang
'Fully automatic, a steel backed stock and more bullets then I know what to do with! Now thats a real gun.' |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/02 19:17:18
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 11:31:32
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
In the example given, perhaps he was trying to shoot the vehicle with the template so he could get some hits on an intervening unit and then declare a charge on the vehicle next phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/04 14:29:43
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Cackling Chaos Conscript
|
Leonus wrote:In the example given, perhaps he was trying to shoot the vehicle with the template so he could get some hits on an intervening unit and then declare a charge on the vehicle next phase.
Even more of a point
Maybe this explains why im still a noob :')
|
The Red Mist Legion- Renegade Chaos Space Marines
'Show those loyalist dogs that their masters send them to the slaughter!'
Iron Heads - Ork Warband
'Dat one put a dent in my iron hat humie!'
The Red Coats - Necromunda Gang
'A good kill Juve, but not worthy of a Red Coat yet'
The Masked Junkies - Necromunda Gang
'Fully automatic, a steel backed stock and more bullets then I know what to do with! Now thats a real gun.' |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/04 20:30:01
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
Leonus wrote:In the example given, perhaps he was trying to shoot the vehicle with the template so he could get some hits on an intervening unit and then declare a charge on the vehicle next phase.
Actually, the squad had a meltagun and a flamer. He wanted to melta the Drop Pod and flamer the Grey Hunters.
Another question: Can the center of a blast template be placed anywhere over a base, or does it have to be directly over the center of the model? And what page is *that* on?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/04 20:33:46
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Waaaghpower wrote:Another question: Can the center of a blast template [Marker] be placed anywhere over a base, or does it have to be directly over the center of the model? And what page is *that* on?
(emphasis mine) It is a Blast Marker, not the Template, which is the teardrop shaped object. The Blast rules cover your question, look for Blast in the Index for the page number. (I would give you a page number but I have the digital codex and the numbers are different from the hard copy version of the BRB).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/04 20:34:29
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/05 06:09:43
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
It doesn't say anything about where over a base or hull the marker must be placed, just that the center hole must be entirely over some part of it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/05 21:52:01
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Leonus wrote:It doesn't say anything about where over a base or hull the marker must be placed, just that the center hole must be entirely over some part of it.
Which in fact answers the question; the center hole must be entirely over some part of the model. This makes it easier to get multiple vehicles or the vehicle and a squad around it. For infantry models this makes little difference as the distance between the center of the model and the edge is insignificant. On MC though (or any larger based model) it gives the firer the flexibility of where they want the blast marker. I continually get at least 2 hits per blast when Riptides pair up with commanders which makes them chills play to kill with the wraithknight's suncannon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/06 04:13:39
Subject: A Couple Minor Questions
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Depending on the blast in question, you generally want the marker in the middle so that it will still hit on just above average scatter(rolling 8-9 or lower with BS4)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|