| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 00:11:59
Subject: Trygon Tunnels - what if the Trygon is in the way?
|
 |
Stinky Spore
Wellington, New Zealand
|
This came up in a recent game - when a Tyranid Trygon deploys via deepstrike, you are instructed to place a marker in the center of the spot it emerged, to represent the tunnel created by the Trygon. Subsequent units arriving from reserve can enter from the Trygon tunnel, by "placing the models on the table within 6" of the center of the marker" (Codex Tyranids page 55).
So my question is, what if the Trygon is still sitting on the marker? This would be a pretty common occurrence, since it cannot move any further in the turn it arrives, and is more likely to then shoot rather than run. Now, RAW would imply that the models can be placed, as there is nothing to indicate they are actually moving through the Trygon to get onto the table, but it's been argued to me that the deployment is similar to that of a vehicle access point or a table edge - the model should be placed at the centre and moved up to 6", as if "moving on" from the tunnel. In this situation the tunnel cannot be used, as the models would have to move "through" the Trygon. Has anyone else run into this? Does anyone have an opinion or know if this has come up before?
[spelling edit]
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/03 00:13:31
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 02:22:16
Subject: Re:Trygon Tunnels - what if the Trygon is in the way?
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
RAW, if the book describes the deep striking unit as arriving within 6" of the marker, I don't think it would matter if the Trygon is on it. But if there was no room for the entire unit within the 6" because of the Trygon and other interfering units etc. then they wouldn't be able to be placed.
I think a more interesting question is: what if someone parks a land raider over the marker? Are they still able to deploy? I'd still assume yes from RAW. RAI, honestly who knows. It could play both ways that the deep striking units sort of flood around the trygon or whatever else is on the hole, or maybe the entire 6" radius is loosened ground so they can come up anywhere in that area.
|
2016 Score: 7W; 0D; 2L |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 03:35:38
Subject: Trygon Tunnels - what if the Trygon is in the way?
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Yes, you can deploy as long as you stay 1" away from the Trygon, treating it as disembarking from a vehicle has no rules support.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 03:35:55
Subject: Trygon Tunnels - what if the Trygon is in the way?
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
|
What I've heard is that if an enemy unit or by whatever means really, encircles the "hole" marker then units couldn't use that as a spawn point (or if they do they have to remove ALL models that don't fit - they just die.) which if that's the case it makes me wonder.
When it says you can place the models within 6" of a "suitable marker"......what does this mean? A suitable marker to me for the Trygon's hole should be the small blast template but I don't know. Haven't used him but do want to know since I'd like to work the TGP in my list.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 03:41:38
Subject: Trygon Tunnels - what if the Trygon is in the way?
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
digital-animal wrote:What I've heard is that if an enemy unit or by whatever means really, encircles the "hole" marker then units couldn't use that as a spawn point (or if they do they have to remove ALL models that don't fit - they just die.) which if that's the case it makes me wonder.
That rule does not exist.
When it says you can place the models within 6" of a "suitable marker"......what does this mean? A suitable marker to me for the Trygon's hole should be the small blast template but I don't know. Haven't used him but do want to know since I'd like to work the TGP in my list.
Any marker with a clearly defined centre is suitable.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 05:57:01
Subject: Trygon Tunnels - what if the Trygon is in the way?
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
|
I was trying to think of the name of it but I was referring the rule in subterranean assault that says that any model that doesn't fit wholly within the 6" would be removed so maybe that answers the question about units surrounding it.
Also - just had an idea of a Hive Tyrant who's flown off the table re-arriving his next turn through a Trygon hole. Might be funny!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/03 05:58:38
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 08:43:33
Subject: Trygon Tunnels - what if the Trygon is in the way?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
PrinceRaven wrote:Yes, you can deploy as long as you stay 1" away from the Trygon, treating it as disembarking from a vehicle has no rules support.
You have to stay 1" away from enemy models and outside of impassable terrain so the artriving unit could be within base contact with the Trygon.
digital-animal wrote:Also - just had an idea of a Hive Tyrant who's flown off the table re-arriving his next turn through a Trygon hole. Might be funny!
Infantry only.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 17:43:55
Subject: Trygon Tunnels - what if the Trygon is in the way?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
PrinceRaven wrote:Yes, you can deploy as long as you stay 1" away from the Trygon, treating it as disembarking from a vehicle has no rules support.
Neither does the underlined. It's not an enemy model.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 23:33:56
Subject: Trygon Tunnels - what if the Trygon is in the way?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
ColdWind wrote:T
This would be a pretty common occurrence, since it cannot move any further in the turn it arrives, and is more likely to then shoot rather than run.
Ok, if the Trygon just arrived, why are you using it for another infantry unit to move through it? It's the turn after it happens, so this statement to me is a moot point. It doesn't matter since no other minis can come through the tunnel the turn the Trygon does. Or am I missing something here?
|
Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.
Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?
Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong". |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 23:50:51
Subject: Trygon Tunnels - what if the Trygon is in the way?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
If it doesn't move the turn it comes in, Reserves will enter before it can move again.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/04 01:09:42
Subject: Trygon Tunnels - what if the Trygon is in the way?
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Happyjew wrote: PrinceRaven wrote:Yes, you can deploy as long as you stay 1" away from the Trygon, treating it as disembarking from a vehicle has no rules support.
You have to stay 1" away from enemy models and outside of impassable terrain so the artriving unit could be within base contact with the Trygon.
rigeld2 wrote: PrinceRaven wrote:Yes, you can deploy as long as you stay 1" away from the Trygon, treating it as disembarking from a vehicle has no rules support.
Neither does the underlined. It's not an enemy model.
Shows what I get for answering rules questions late at night.
So, as long as they're wholly within 6" of the centre of the marker and not on the Trygon's base they can be placed there.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/04 01:17:58
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|