Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 00:12:38
Subject: 1850. Iron hands. Is it legal to do this?
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
Getting use to SM in general.
My list first
Master of the forge: Gorgons chain, power axe
Tech marine
Servitor w/ heavy bolter
Servitor w/ heavy bolter
Legion of the damned: (7 total): flamer/multi Melta
Dreadnought w/ assault cannon, power fist w/ heavy flamer
Assault terminator squad: 3 w/ storm shield, thunder hammer
Tactical squad 1: heavy bolter, vet sgt w/ combi plasma, razorback w/ assault cannon
Tactical squad 2: heavy bolter, vet sgt w/ combi plasma, razorback w/ heavy bolter
Tactical squad 3: las cannon
Tactical squad 4: las cannon
Storm talon w/ sky hammer missiles
Devestator squad: missile launcher x4, vet sgt
Thunder fire cannon
Storm raven: assault cannon, multi Melta
Questions:
1. Can the storm raven carry the assault terminators?
2. The rule about reserves. Can the game start with MotF, tech marine w/ Servitors, 4 tactical squads, devestator squad, TFC. Then the dreadnought, assault terminators, storm talon, storm raven, and LotD in reserve?
I know the questions seem newbie like, but, I'm easily confused.
|
javascript:emoticon(' '); 3,000 pointsjavascript:emoticon(' ');
2,000 points
265 point detachment
Imperial Knight detachment: 375
Iron Hands: 1,850
where ever you go, there you are |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 00:48:45
Subject: 1850. Iron hands. Is it legal to do this?
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
To answer your question about Reserves and Turn1:
Every flyer, Legion squad, and drop pod (none in this case) have to start in reserve. So that leaves you with: MotF, Tech/Servitors, 4 Tacts, Devs, TFC, Dread, and Terminators.
That's 10 units that start on the board normally. 5 must be on the board. The wording is weird with Turn1 reserves, it actually rounds down. Meaning if you had 9 (which you dont, because you have 10), but if you had 9, only 4 need to be on, and 5 could be off. (Don't confuse yourself with this, I simply point it out because most players mess this up.)
First question:
Yes, they can start in the Raven as long as you have at least 5 units on the board Turn1.
Second question:
Back to your list: since you have 10 units that are NOT forced into reserves, you can start the board with 5 units. Any combination. Since you gave your techmarine 2 servitors, you can't really put them in a Razorback with your tacts so you might as well get rid of them.
Personally (without changing your list), I'd strip the servitors and add the MotF and Tech into your two Razorbacks. The loadout on most of your Tacts and Razorbacks don't sync up very well, so you might want to change a lot of their loadouts, but that's your preference.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 00:58:50
Subject: 1850. Iron hands. Is it legal to do this?
|
 |
Monstrous Master Moulder
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
|
I'd also drop the power axe from the MotF. His stock Servo-Harness totes a pair of Servo-Arms, which are quite better.
|
They are my bulwark against the Terror. They are the Defenders of Humanity. They are my Space Marines, and they shall know no fear. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 03:51:35
Subject: 1850. Iron hands. Is it legal to do this?
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
Thanks for the help. The rules run in circles sometime to me.
As far as the tech marine with Servitors, it is for fluff. I like the game, and I like lists that can win and begun to play with. That unities for fluff and all.
I am considering dropping the power ax. Thinking just went with Kat ecause of the model.
|
javascript:emoticon(' '); 3,000 pointsjavascript:emoticon(' ');
2,000 points
265 point detachment
Imperial Knight detachment: 375
Iron Hands: 1,850
where ever you go, there you are |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 04:28:07
Subject: 1850. Iron hands. Is it legal to do this?
|
 |
Black Templar Recruit Undergoing Surgeries
|
I'd run the MotF with a lightning claw, its the same cost as the axe but pairs with his servo harness so you get an extra attack, plus it gives you a strong option for striking at initiative.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 06:12:12
Subject: 1850. Iron hands. Is it legal to do this?
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
Saythings wrote:To answer your question about Reserves and Turn1:
Every flyer, Legion squad, and drop pod (none in this case) have to start in reserve. So that leaves you with: MotF, Tech/Servitors, 4 Tacts, Devs, TFC, Dread, and Terminators.
That's 10 units that start on the board normally. 5 must be on the board. The wording is weird with Turn1 reserves, it actually rounds down. Meaning if you had 9 (which you dont, because you have 10), but if you had 9, only 4 need to be on, and 5 could be off. (Don't confuse yourself with this, I simply point it out because most players mess this up.)
First question:
Yes, they can start in the Raven as long as you have at least 5 units on the board Turn1.
Second question:
Back to your list: since you have 10 units that are NOT forced into reserves, you can start the board with 5 units. Any combination. Since you gave your techmarine 2 servitors, you can't really put them in a Razorback with your tacts so you might as well get rid of them.
Personally (without changing your list), I'd strip the servitors and add the MotF and Tech into your two Razorbacks. The loadout on most of your Tacts and Razorbacks don't sync up very well, so you might want to change a lot of their loadouts, but that's your preference.
Also if the assault termis are in the raven they no longer count towards the units that HAVE to start on the table as they are in a transport which has to start off the table. Therefore you will only have 9 units thus only need to start 4 on the table. Automatically Appended Next Post: As to the list:
- there is little synergy with your heavy/spec weapons. Lascannons end up making a squad a 90pt 1 shot a turn unit as they don't fire at remotely the same unit as the bolters. The flamer/ mm combo on the LotD seems a bit off as they wont be shooting at the same thing either. Also the legion already ignore cover with their weapons so buying ignore cover weapons for them is a bit off a waste, get a melta and a combi-grav/melta for the sarge.
- you have a master of the forge and techmarine yet no vehicles worth repairing (apart from maybe the dread) unless your flyers drop into hover which is counter productive. Get a libby instead.
- the dread needs a pod. I would also personally upgrade to an ironclad.
- ml devs majorly suck. Put 4 lascannons here instead. That extra st and ap makes a huge difference to AT.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/03 06:26:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 13:42:49
Subject: 1850. Iron hands. Is it legal to do this?
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Poly Ranger wrote:
Also if the assault termis are in the raven they no longer count towards the units that HAVE to start on the table as they are in a transport which has to start off the table. Therefore you will only have 9 units thus only need to start 4 on the table.
IIRC, the Assault Terminators don't count as being forced into reserve because the Stormraven is NOT a dedicated transports. There are still 10 units that are deployed normally. I might be wrong xD
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/03 15:09:38
Subject: 1850. Iron hands. Is it legal to do this?
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
If units are in a transport which HAS to be deployed in reserve. They do not count towards the total units for the reserve count.
|
|
 |
 |
|