Switch Theme:

Void shields and power field generators (And other effects that give ++s  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I'll give the situation. I have a Warhound protected by a Void Array. A DA libby w/ a PFG is sitting under him. Total void shields protecting him are 5, 3 from the array and 2 from himself. Something with haywire shoots a lot of shots at him. The person who I was playing against tried to argue that none of the void shields would be subject to the 4++. I countered that since the target was the warhound all of the shots should be part of the 4++. We eventually ended with just the two warhound shields since they libby was too far away from the arrays to give them their own 4++. Now it is an easy answer if we were talking D strength but this is for everything else.

So can an invul save (or cover in the case of the CFF) be applied thing like void shields?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Your opponent was correct.
The attack is transferred to the shield, so any save your Warhound gets does not apply.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 grendel083 wrote:
Your opponent was correct.
The attack is transferred to the shield, so any save your Warhound gets does not apply.

Yet would you include that on the shields generated by the warhound itself since it is the one generating those shields?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Taelon wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Your opponent was correct.
The attack is transferred to the shield, so any save your Warhound gets does not apply.

Yet would you include that on the shields generated by the warhound itself since it is the one generating those shields?
Again no, as the attack is no longer against the Warhound, but the shield instead.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




But again, the shield is generated by the warhound. It is the warhounds shield should it not get the save since the source of the shield is within the range of the invul?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/03 18:10:44


 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Murfreesboro, TN

Void shields aren't units/models so they aren't covered by the PFG. Nothing else really applies

"I'm not much for prejudice, I prefer to judge people by whats inside, and how much fun it is to get to those insides." - Unknown Haemonculi 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Void Shields are very unusual because of one fact:
They transfer the attack from a unit to the Special Rule itself.

This has caused a huge number of problems.....

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I do agree the void shield not getting the save. If it transferred to the shield after rolling for penetrate I would say it works because the penetrate is against the warhound before it transfers. As a side note instead of that 4++ save on him, why not just have your warhounds fot in a crater for a 5+ cover save?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





icefire78 wrote:
why not just have your warhounds fot in a crater for a 5+ cover save?

Because that crater would have to obscure 25% of the vehicle's facing.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Oh that's right I remember in the BRB it says any model in area terrain benefits from the cover save, but then in a different section it says vehicles have to be obscurred


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I always forget that it's in 2 seperate spots

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/05 15:46:49


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Well, to be fair, that second spot is in the vehicle rules. The vehicle rules are there to tell you how vehicles are different from infantry(for whom the basic rules are written).


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: