Switch Theme:

Mawloc Deep Strike question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

Hey Dakka, I'm sure I saw a thread like this a month or so ago, but I can't find it for the life of me.
When you Deep Strike a Mawloc, do you have to declare which direction it is facing?
Since if it was facing "north" and then scattered 12" north, part of its base could then be in impassible or off the board edge. Turning it could change this.
Thanks guys.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Pg 36 tells you to place a model from the unit on the table then roll for scatter so it would appear you have to place him facing the direction you want and scatter from that placement. Unless the Nid Dex gives you different instructions on placement during deepstriking that should answer the question.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I have never seen anyone declare which direction he is facing. Everyone i have seen use him, checks to see if he will fit in the space by moving him around, then if need be rolls the mishap.

Edit:

From the rules in the codex it says "... the Mawloc on the table on the spot where the blast marker landed, then do so, even if this is within 1" of another model..." so it sounds like you can maneuver him to try and get him to fit as long as he is not in direct base to base.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/03 18:32:22


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Ahh it says put a marker down. Then in that case it would appear you can face him any direction.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

It says to put the marker down if you DS onto models. Otherwise, you use the Mawloc model and as such would not be able to rotate it.

That said, most players (myself included) just use a Blast Marker as they are (or were ) intending to arrive on top of enemy models.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 Happyjew wrote:
It says to put the marker down if you DS onto models. Otherwise, you use the Mawloc model and as such would not be able to rotate it.

That said, most players (myself included) just use a Blast Marker as they are (or were ) intending to arrive on top of enemy models.


Is that even legal anymore? the rule for deep strike still says to "place the model on the table" then people used the old nid faq to place them on units. as there is no nid faq anymore how do you justify not placing mawloc on the table, then roll to scatter?

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





To sirly:
The whole purpose of a mawloc is to appear under units and eat them. The rules for the mawloc specifically cover it
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

sirlynchmob wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
It says to put the marker down if you DS onto models. Otherwise, you use the Mawloc model and as such would not be able to rotate it.

That said, most players (myself included) just use a Blast Marker as they are (or were ) intending to arrive on top of enemy models.


Is that even legal anymore? the rule for deep strike still says to "place the model on the table" then people used the old nid faq to place them on units. as there is no nid faq anymore how do you justify not placing mawloc on the table, then roll to scatter?


TftD specifically gives permission to attempt to DS directly on a unit.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




It has always been allowed to attempt to DS onto another unit.

It is just stupid most of the time.
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine






it is a monstrous creature. facing is irrelevant.

you automatically lose points for using the trite gamer-isms: balanced, meta, Mat Ward, etc. 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





viewfinder wrote:
it is a monstrous creature. facing is irrelevant.


oval shaped base and scatter means that facing does matter, it affects whether you can place your model or have to mishap (the base is longer across one axis than the other). But as has been discussed people are leaning towards not having to place the model until after resolving the mawlocs special deepstrike rules and therefore not have to choose facing as it drops.
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine






being that its facong means nothing in game terms, it also mean nothing in terms of deep strike. the OP is adding terms that don't exist.

you automatically lose points for using the trite gamer-isms: balanced, meta, Mat Ward, etc. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





viewfinder wrote:
being that its facong means nothing in game terms, it also mean nothing in terms of deep strike. the OP is adding terms that don't exist.

So ... you're just failing to understand the issue?

An oval base that is facing one way doesn't go off the board. Rotate the base 90 degrees and suddenly - it's off the board! Holy crap! It's almost like facing for oval based MC does matter!

Facing doesn't matter for shooting or where it can assault, but it absolutely matters for things like this.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

Along these same lines, after resolving the Mawloc's special DS attack, does the Mawloc model need to be placed in the center of the blast marker? Or can he be placed anywhere under the blast marker as long as his entire base fits under it?

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine






considering the size of the marker and the base, both. I don't think there is much wiggle room on the large blast for the MC base.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
rigeld2 wrote:
viewfinder wrote:
being that its facong means nothing in game terms, it also mean nothing in terms of deep strike. the OP is adding terms that don't exist.

So ... you're just failing to understand the issue?

An oval base that is facing one way doesn't go off the board. Rotate the base 90 degrees and suddenly - it's off the board! Holy crap! It's almost like facing for oval based MC does matter!

Facing doesn't matter for shooting or where it can assault, but it absolutely matters for things like this.


and no, I'm not failing to understand anything. the model isn't even placed until the scatter and explosion is resolved, so you can place however you wish.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/04 15:45:06


you automatically lose points for using the trite gamer-isms: balanced, meta, Mat Ward, etc. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





viewfinder wrote:
and no, I'm not failing to understand anything. the model isn't even placed until the scatter and explosion is resolved, so you can place however you wish.

You need to re-read the Deep Strike and TftD rules. The model is absolutely placed.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal






Halifax, NS

TFtD, latest Nid Codex "A Mawloc can choose to Deep Strike onto another model. If, after scattering, the Mawloc is Deep Striking onto another model, place the large blast marker directly onto that spot..." paraphrase resolve hits "Then, place the Mawloc there if you can..." and so on.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: