Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/04 20:26:56
Subject: Multiple barrage and rerolls
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
Casting Prescience on a unit of 3 Thudd Guns (Forgeworld) lets the unit reroll to hit rolls.
But what constitutes a to hit roll for multiple barrage?
The initial scatter dice + 2d6, obviously.
But what about the following 11 scatter dice? Do you get to reroll those as well? Or just the initial one?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/04 22:01:58
Subject: Multiple barrage and rerolls
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
[edit] Um, nevermind. I played braindead and forgot to look in all the pertinent places.... carry on.[/edit]
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/06 00:04:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/05 06:01:48
Subject: Multiple barrage and rerolls
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
Barrage weapons follow the rules for Blast weapons (except for some special bits), and in the Blast weapon rules it says "If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a blast weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2d6"
The BRB doesn't seem to say anything specifically about re-rolling multiple barrage shots... As Prescience allows you to re-roll ALL To Hit rolls, I would allow you to re-roll the initial scatter and 2d6, and then each proceeding scatter die (as silly as that sounds).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/05 12:24:34
Subject: Multiple barrage and rerolls
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
How are you rerolling the scatter die and the 2d6 with each proceeding scatter die roll Leonus?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/05 13:52:12
Subject: Multiple barrage and rerolls
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
As I said, the BRB doesn't specify how to handle multiple barrages, so I just said how I would play it, since there isn't any RAW. Does it make more sense to you to not allow him to re-roll anything but the first roll, despite Prescience?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/05 14:04:09
Subject: Multiple barrage and rerolls
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Leonus wrote:Does it make more sense to you to not allow him to re-roll anything but the first roll, despite Prescience?
Honestly, yes. You get the re-roll on the first more important shot.
And if a rule doesn't tell you how to handle it, it's probably because it doesn't effect it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/05 19:49:30
Subject: Multiple barrage and rerolls
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I say you can re-roll the scatter die, by chain of specificity. The situation that there is no 2d6 as part of secondary barrage is much more specific than the rules for blast weapons in general. This means that the rule that blast weapons re-roll the scatter die and the 2d6 overrides the normal rules for to-hit re-rolls, while the rule removing the 2d6 for secondary barrage blasts removes the 2d6 from both the scatter and the re-roll, being the more specific rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/05 19:49:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/06 10:47:02
Subject: Re:Multiple barrage and rerolls
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
My own thoughts on it:
When you twinlink any other kind of high volume gun unit, you get to reroll each bullit. Therefore I see no reason that you shouldn't be able to reroll each bullit just because it's barrage.
Imo, the specification in the Blast rule (ie that you have to reroll both the scatter and the 2d6) is there only to rule out the possibility of only rerolling one of those dices, specifying that if a dice roll consist of more than one die, you have to reroll all of them.
|
|
 |
 |
|