| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/04 23:02:25
Subject: Chasing down a fleeing unit
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Hello all, Just a quick question: A unit of let's say spider riders are charging 10 archers. I decided to flee my archers but rolls double 1s, he still charges and rolls triple 4s let's say. Are the archers dead? Or does he only move the normal move and stop while I run away in terror... Thanks in advance. New question: If the same unit of archers are getting charged by the same spider unit, but this time there's a unit of spearmen behind the archers at the time. The archers flee behind the spearmen, and if moving distance allows, will the spiders hit the spearmen? And also, are the archers dead?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/15 00:43:33
1500pt O'Vesa Star W: 27 D: 2 L: 1
The challenge: in a 1500pt game I will play 900pt + D6x100 pts, if I roll a 6 I reroll and -100 to that second number (down to 1000pt minimum)
W:6 D:0 L:1 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/04 23:54:21
Subject: Re:Chasing down a fleeing unit
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
It depends
Let's say that your spider riders charge my archers. You are 15 inches away, so you need a 6 inch charge (i think spider riders are M9, but if not, just subtract from the total distance). I decide to flee with my archers before you roll for charge. I roll 1, 1 so I'm now 17 inches away. You can then decide to try to charge another unit (re-direct the charge) or continue after the archers. If you roll high enough to meet my new location, (an 8) my archers are caught and destroyed. If you don't roll enough to meet my new location, it is considered a failed charge
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/05 00:30:48
Subject: Chasing down a fleeing unit
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Ah ok. Thanks for the response.
|
1500pt O'Vesa Star W: 27 D: 2 L: 1
The challenge: in a 1500pt game I will play 900pt + D6x100 pts, if I roll a 6 I reroll and -100 to that second number (down to 1000pt minimum)
W:6 D:0 L:1 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/05 03:13:33
Subject: Chasing down a fleeing unit
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Your order of operations is a little off;
1. Charge Declared
2. Charge Reaction Declared
If reaction is flee;
3. Charging unit has opportunity to re-direct with a leadership check
4. Flee and charge distance rolled
So the important thing is you attempt to re-direct before the flee distance is determined.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/08 13:00:14
Subject: Chasing down a fleeing unit
|
 |
Crazed Savage Orc
Saginaw, MI
|
Danny, sorry but that is incorrect. .
The Charge to reaction is a script.
1. Declare Charge to Unit
2. Unit declares a reaction and performs action. Hold, Stand and shoot (if able) or Flee (if already fleeing, Flee again)
- a. if SnS -> shoot (Right now before any other charges are declared)
- b. if Flee -> roll flee distance and move unit. (The target unit moves not the Charging unit)
--- if target flees, redirect (if able) by passing a ldr test. if ldr pass goto step 1. if ldr failed goto step 3. (only 1 redirect)
3. Repeat 1 & 2 until there are no more charges to declare.
4. Roll for charges in any order and move charges.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/08 13:06:37
Subject: Chasing down a fleeing unit
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
It's when pursuing from close combat that you decide if you pursue or reform before the fleeing distance is rolled I believe
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/08 13:12:45
Subject: Chasing down a fleeing unit
|
 |
Crazed Savage Orc
Saginaw, MI
|
Correct.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/15 00:42:53
Subject: Chasing down a fleeing unit
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
New question: If the same unit of archers are getting charged by the same spider unit, but this time there's a unit of spearmen behind the archers at the time. The archers flee behind the spearmen, and if moving distance allows, will the spiders hit the spearmen? And also, are the archers dead?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/15 00:43:05
1500pt O'Vesa Star W: 27 D: 2 L: 1
The challenge: in a 1500pt game I will play 900pt + D6x100 pts, if I roll a 6 I reroll and -100 to that second number (down to 1000pt minimum)
W:6 D:0 L:1 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/15 01:49:37
Subject: Chasing down a fleeing unit
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) test to redirect
2) no, the rule book is very clear that you have to contact th unit to kill them from a charge. It is only a dice off when fleeing from combat
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|