Switch Theme:

Assaults with multiple units  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Changing Our Legion's Name




Adelaide Australia

Now I know in the rulebook already that a unit can assault two units in once, considering they charged the one they shot at, disordered charge bla bla. But it doesn't in the rulebook, not from what I could find, about assaulting a unit that is already locked in combat and if you fight it as one assault or separate assaults. I would assume you'd fight it as one big assault, otherwise it'd seem like one unit is just standing around waiting for their mates to finish beating the heresy out of the enemy unit.
So main questions are:
1. Unlike shooting, can you assault an enemy unit locked in combat?
2. Is this fought as two separate assaults with two sets of initiative steps, or as one assault with just the one set?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Just to expand on that, say you're playing CSM against Orks. And there's two units Boyz locked in combat with a unit of Plague Marines, and you charge the flank of those Orks, charging one specific unit, but being able to assault both, does that count as a disordered charge?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/09 07:14:31


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) Yes
2) One assault, as per the multiple combat rules state
3) You cannot contact the second unit of boyz unless you *declare* a disordered charge. Otherwise you are prohibited from contacting any unit you did not declare a charge against
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






1. The rules allow you to launch an assault against an enemy. There is no exception for enemies already locked in combat, so you absolutely may.

2. One assault, as per the multiple combats rules.

3. If you declare that you're charging both units, then you can do so and suffer the penalties of a disordered charge. You'd be better off charging only one of the units and simply piling in with the other unit at they end of the phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/09 12:27:07


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Also, if you assault a unit locked in combat trough terrain. you wont suffer the initiative penalty for charging through cover.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: