Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 03:41:59
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Orikan the Diviner says, "Roll a D6 at the start of each of your turns" to see if he transforms. If i join him to a squad of Immortals with 2 Harbinger of Eternity with Chronometrons would i be able to re-roll his D6 to keep him in buff mode? Keep in mind the Chronometron re-roll says it can be used to re-roll one dice each phase. Does the start of your turn qualify as a phase? I guess the movement phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 03:51:55
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
It sounds like it should work.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 1514/04/10 03:57:03
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
You can only reroll the d6 1 time each turn. Having 2 chronometrons doesn't let you reroll after you fail a reroll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 04:43:39
Subject: Re:Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
It does work, but you only ever can reroll a dice once. So you can't put two in there ( it's better to put him a Ghost Arc w/ the Chronometron).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/10 04:44:17
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 14:38:59
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
Clairification: You CAN add him to a unit with two Chrono-teks, he just won't be able to benefit from both of Chronometrons for the sake of his transformation.
(they could still come in handy for other things, eg. saves, RP, etc.)
... though I've always found it kind of odd that the most highly regarded Harbinger of Eternity in the galaxy does not carry a Chronometron himself...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 15:32:40
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
That is weird isn't it
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 16:15:20
Subject: Re:Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Can a Chronometron be used to reroll Orikan's "Stars are Aligned" ability if they are in the same unit? - Yes.
Can Orikan be attached to a unit with 2 Chorno-teks that each have a Chronometron? - Yes
Can you have Orikan and 2 Chrono-teks with Chronometrons in a single FOC? - No. You can only have 1 Chronometron per RC and you would need 2 Overlords (generic or named) to unlock 2 RC's and thus 2 Chronometrons. Orikan does not unlock a RC and thus prevents this from occurring in a single FOC.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 16:21:47
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
Yeah, you'd have to include an Overlord in your Prmary detatchment, then take an Allied Detatchment with a second Overlord to get Orikan, and 2 Chronometrons on the board
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 18:32:53
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
jasper76 wrote:Yeah, you'd have to include an Overlord in your Prmary detatchment, then take an Allied Detatchment with a second Overlord to get Orikan, and 2 Chronometrons on the board
Currently - this is impossible since Necrons cannot be allies with themselves other than using the Dark Harvest list from IA12. Even then, Dark Harvest are allies of convenience to the codex army list so RC members couldn't intermingle in addition to the fact that Orikan and other codex IC's cannot be taken in a Dark Harvest list.
The only way to do 2 Crypteks with Chronometrons and Orikan in the same list (not even unit but list) would be to run double force org.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 18:37:33
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
Huh? You sure? (It's been a very long time since i did any kind of Allied detatchment)
If so, that is crazy, crazy, stupid. So my Necorn army can take an allied detachment of f-ing Grey Knights, but can't take an allied detachment from within the same army?
Lame, and if it weren't so easy to get around (all you'd need is 1 more Troop Choice, for your second FOC, right?), that joke of a rule should just be ignored.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 18:56:27
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
You seem to be mixing up an allied detachment with a double force org.
At 2000 points you may take a second primary detachment... You still need a HQ and 2 more troops to meet the minimum requirements of the second primary detachment.
Allies use the allied matrix to determine if they can ally, and what kind of ally. No armies have the ability to just ally with themselves besides space marines.
Besides SM, only a select few supplements have allowed the original army to take an allied detachment from the same codex. Its not like necrons are the only one that can't... Tyranids can't ally... At all...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 19:04:55
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
BarBoBot wrote:You seem to be mixing up an allied detachment with a double force org.
At 2000 points you may take a second primary detachment... You still need a HQ and 2 more troops to meet the minimum requirements of the second primary detachment.
Allies use the allied matrix to determine if they can ally, and what kind of ally. No armies have the ability to just ally with themselves besides space marines.
Besides SM, only a select few supplements have allowed the original army to take an allied detachment from the same codex. Its not like necrons are the only one that can't... Tyranids can't ally... At all...
Fair enough. Dumb, nonsensical, probably non-consequential (rarely play games sub 2K), and duly ignored.
But it does mean I can take 6 Annihilation Barges, 6 Units of Wraiths, and 5 units with 4 Crypteks...that's great for keeping the spam down.
And in 1 non-Apocalypse game, I can bring 24 Flyers.
My appreciation for good rulesets increases daily
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/04/10 19:14:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 19:50:41
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
40k has those? (I couldn't resist)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 19:53:00
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
I meant games like LOTR and Warlord Games products.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/10 19:54:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 20:02:13
Subject: Is this crazy Necron tactic legal?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
jasper76 wrote:But it does mean I can take 6 Annihilation Barges, 6 Units of Wraiths, and 5 units with 4 Crypteks...that's great for keeping the spam down.
O.o
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|