Switch Theme:

Mimicing Magus?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
Author Message

Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.

Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets

Da Southern New Hampshire!

Something came up during a game about Vlad Mimicing Magnus' "Two Handed Strike" ability.

I thought yes but my partner said no.

My reasoning: The Mimic says that a "Special Rule" may be copied blah blah blah.
His reasoning: The Special Rule says "Magus may make a sword strike with all the force of his mechanikal arm behind it... blah blah blah". Since Vlad doesnt have the Mechanikal Arm (or ability) he cannot Mimic this rule.

Whos right?

If at first you don't succeed, you fail. 
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User

I think your friend is right. You can't mimic Two-Handed strike, but not because you don't have a mechanikal arm. Two-handed strike, strictly speaking, is not an ability of the weapon, but a special attack granted by the weapon. It's the same as saying you could mimic Skarre's sacrificial strike or Irusk's assualt abilities. (No, you can't do that either.)
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets

Da Southern New Hampshire!

So (*Action)'s cannot be Mimic'ed?
Im still kinda skeptical but then again it does kinda make sense, if you copied Irusk's assault ability you cant really shoot with the Onslaught weapon that Vlad doesnt have.

If at first you don't succeed, you fail. 
Made in us
Madrak Ironhide

Link 2

Link 1

Summary: he can mimic the special ability but nothing ever comes of it as the
special ability is warcaster/weapon and mimic copies the weapon.

That was my understanding of these discussions, at least.

Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: