Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 19:49:40
Subject: C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Was told some things by some people I know that I really don't agree with and wanted some input on them.
1. Storm eagle rockets and death strike missiles have special rules saying they cannot fire directly. Several people have told me that this means they cannot fire within their minimum range. The thing is there are no direct fire rules in 6th ed, that was a 5th ed rule. The only limitation in the rule book on barrage weapons firing within minimum range is they cannot subtract the scatter by their BS even if they can see. I see this as either a sign of rules changes for 7th ed or just poor rules writing by the committee that wrote this codex.
2. A tank commander says it "must take one leman russ from those listed in the heavy support section" and "must include 1-2 other leman russ tanks from those listed in the heavy support section". Several people I know seem to think this means a tank commander takes up both an HQ and heavy support slot as it is taking a leman russ tank squadron in addition to a tank commander. Based on the wording I don't see how that is possible. It actually doesn't even mention a leman russ tank squadron at all, just the heavy support section as the location to find the rules and point costs for the tanks in question.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 20:02:52
Subject: C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
2) The squadron takes up a HQ slot. You take a LRBT from the HS section and "upgrade" it into a HQ. 1) I've been wondering about this myself. Logically, they would indeed not be able to fire within minimum range, but this is not covered in the 6th ed rules.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/14 20:04:32
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 20:03:29
Subject: C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
1. If they say they cannot fire directly then it means they follow the rules for indirect fire, meaning they scatter the full distance.
2. The rules for Tank Commander (I forget which at the moment) specify the squadron of 3 are an HQ choice.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 20:05:56
Subject: C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
Happyjew wrote:1. If they say they cannot fire directly then it means they follow the rules for indirect fire, meaning they scatter the full distance.
That is true, but the manticore and the deathstrike have minimum ranges. So what do you do with the minimum range, if they already fire indirectly past that?
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 20:08:42
Subject: C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If a weapon has the barrage type it can NEVER fire directly under 6th ed rules. It ALWAYS follows the barrage rules which specifically allow it to fire within minimum. The option to fire directly was lost between 5th and 6th ed.
---------------------------------
Okay, I found the leman russ squadron part, it's not in the actual entry where the points are listed.
It says it "counts as an HQ choice for the entire of the battle" (yes, the grammar error is in my copy) and that the commander "starts the game in a leman russ tank, leading a leman russ squadron".
Because it doesn't specifically say it no longer counts as a heavy support choice some people think it counts as both? To me that means it counts as an HQ choice and only an HQ choice. Is there any precedent for a unit taking up two slots on a FOC?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/14 20:10:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 20:09:36
Subject: C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
CthuluIsSpy wrote: Happyjew wrote:1. If they say they cannot fire directly then it means they follow the rules for indirect fire, meaning they scatter the full distance. That is true, but the manticore and the deathstrike have minimum ranges. So what do you do with the minimum range, if they already fire indirectly past that?
They have a minimum range. If they shoot within this range they fire indirectly as they already do. So to answer your question, what do you do? You ignore it. At least for now. This is not the first time that GW gave information that does absolutely nothing (see Spore Mine Clusters and Vibro Cannons, both have Strength caps they cannot reach).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/14 20:09:57
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/14 20:13:06
Subject: C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:This is not the first time that GW gave information that does absolutely nothing (see Spore Mine Clusters and Vibro Cannons, both have Strength caps they cannot reach).
Also the C: MT warlord trait allowing deep striking squads in the warlords platoon to only scatter 1D6" when there are no platoons in that codex at all.
*sigh* GW writers...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/16 11:46:00
Subject: C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
CthuluIsSpy wrote: Happyjew wrote:1. If they say they cannot fire directly then it means they follow the rules for indirect fire, meaning they scatter the full distance. That is true, but the manticore and the deathstrike have minimum ranges. So what do you do with the minimum range, if they already fire indirectly past that? This is one of my favorite "What was the point in that?"s in the new Codex: In 6th edition firing within Min rang is always indirect, so weapons that cannot fire directly never have actual minimum ranges. It could be either forward writing(In case they return to under minimum range is direct fire); or a simple hold-over they never changed from the old codex
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/16 11:49:36
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/16 16:16:23
Subject: C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
My bet is on holdover....
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/23 09:28:29
Subject: Re:C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The barrage rule states "barrage weapons can fire indirectly". The important word here is "can". It does not say they always fire indirectly. It says they CAN.
When shooting at a target within minimum range or a target you do not have line of sight to you use indirect fire.
This means when shooting at a target BEYOND minimum range that you DO have line of sight to you do not have to use indirect fire which means you would fire following the normal rules for blast weapons. This is your direct fire option in 6th edition. Just a normal shooting attack performed like any other shooting attack with any other blast weapon except with the minimum range restriction.
This means the entire minimum range concept is in no way irrelevant. If you fire within minimum range or at a target you cannot see you roll full scatter. If you fire BEYOND minimum range at a target you CAN see then scatter is reduced by your ballistic skill as per any other blast weapon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/23 11:37:57
Subject: Re:C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
CaptainGnarr wrote:The barrage rule states "barrage weapons can fire indirectly". The important word here is "can". It does not say they always fire indirectly. It says they CAN. When shooting at a target within minimum range or a target you do not have line of sight to you use indirect fire. This means when shooting at a target BEYOND minimum range that you DO have line of sight to you do not have to use indirect fire which means you would fire following the normal rules for blast weapons. This is your direct fire option in 6th edition. Just a normal shooting attack performed like any other shooting attack with any other blast weapon except with the minimum range restriction. This means the entire minimum range concept is in no way irrelevant. If you fire within minimum range or at a target you cannot see you roll full scatter. If you fire BEYOND minimum range at a target you CAN see then scatter is reduced by your ballistic skill as per any other blast weapon. The guns I mentioned cannot fire directly. Making the Minimum range meaningless.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/23 11:38:36
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/23 11:47:05
Subject: C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
I made a thread for these things for a reason...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/23 12:29:22
Subject: Re:C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:
The guns I mentioned cannot fire directly.
Making the Minimum range meaningless.
Yep sorry I get that now. It is indeed meaningless to have a minimum range on a weapon that always has to fire indirectly. My bad. Still trying to get all this figured out myself.
LUTNIT wrote:
1. Storm eagle rockets and death strike missiles have special rules saying they cannot fire directly. Several people have told me that this means they cannot fire within their minimum range. The thing is there are no direct fire rules in 6th ed, that was a 5th ed rule.
Direct fire in 6th edition is normal shooting with a blast weapon. Most barrage weapons can fire directly at a target beyond their minimum range and within line of sight. If they have a special rule saying they cannot fire directly then they can never be fired like a normal blast weapon and must always be fired indirectly. So the people telling you they can't fire within their minimum range are wrong. But as with so many 40k rules it's not written as well as it could be and leads to these arguments.
This is what my previous post was meant to really be getting at.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/23 22:57:17
Subject: C:AM - Direct fire barrage and tank commander FOC questions
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Direct fire is not normal blast.
The only difference between barrage indirect and direct fire is restrictions on when it is/can be direct fire and BS scatter reduction(just that first bullet point for indirect)
All other rules for barrage are in effect no matter which mode the gun fires in.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|