Switch Theme:

Skimmers and forced to stop over models  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

I've been looking over the rulebook and can't find a time when this would come into effect. If it was a tank and was ramming another vehicle wouldn't the models underneath be forced to move per the tank shock rules.... When would this rule ever be triggered?

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





In order to tank shock you have to be a tank. So if its a skimmer that is a non-tank then it would matter
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




 CrownAxe wrote:
In order to tank shock you have to be a tank. So if its a skimmer that is a non-tank then it would matter


I've been curious about this as well. I'm not sure in what scenario a skimmer ever invokes its rule to move away from enemy models should it land on top of them. People tell me that it doesn't function in deep strike (otherwise the monolith could land on top of enemies and then move to safety).

It doesn't function for tank shock; so a monolith can tank shock but it won't be forced to move away from the models since the enemy must move. Does anyone have a scenario where it's used?
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

It does not, figuring out where the unit scattered too is not movement and triggers the mishap even before the models are even placed.

I don't really know when this Skimmer related Rule would be considered useful though, given that you measure before movement and would know it couldn't go past X inches without being in the enemies 1 inch bubble. Even if it wasn't a skimmer in that situation, the player can not just declare to move the unit into an illegal position so the Rule wouldn't even have a chance to trigger. For example, Infantry units would also be stopped at the exact same point as the skimmer would be 'pulled back to' simply because they can not move any further. There is only one situation I can think of, and I don't even know if there is any Rule that creates it to begin with, and that would be if the enemy could move your unit without any restriction on where it could end up. Maybe something along the lines of 'if the Vehicle is moved over top of another model, it must make an initiative test or be removed as a casualty.'

Such a rule doesn't exist to my knowledge though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/15 15:24:50


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

I can think of one circumstance. When the BRB was written but before the new Eldar codex, the eldar had a power that could turn vehicles in a random direction. Given that most vehicles are not perfect circles, this could lead to the vehicle being on top a model. Then this rule would trigger.

But then that begs the question of what would happen when this happened to a non-skimmer? Well I guess it doesn't matter anymore since the power doesn't exist anymore.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






ATM the only way this comes up is with deep striking landspeeders i believe.



If they scatter on top of models, you can move them so that their nose push's back far enough to get their flyer base 1" away from the models they landed on and thus keep them from mishapping.

But there is alot of contention on this being that a scatter is not a "move" so it might not count.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






While there might not be a current scenario where it would matter I suspect it was GW doing some future proofing for once. I could see a psychic power forcing a vehicle to move a number of inches in a particular direction.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: