Switch Theme:

Chaos power scourges. Can troops take them?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan






First of all, I want it well documented that I think no. I'm asking on behalf of a friend. He played a new 40k player recently. He's just started with CSM. He took a terminator squad. He paid for a power weapon upgrade on each guy, and claimed that each power weapon was a power scourge.

Now I was under the impression that when you pay 12 points for a PW it allows you to select from the PW section in the rule book. And as a scourge costs a helbrute a great deal more than 12 points it doesn't seem logical.

What I'm after is written rules so I can prove it's not allowed rather than my very simple argument of 'no, of course that's not right'

My only argument at the moment is that if a unit can take a scourge, it specifically states it in their entry?

You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them  
   
Made in gb
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler




Ireland

The only models to my knowledge that can take Power Scourges are the Helbrute and Defiler.
The main rule book details which weapons are classed as "Power Weapons" and the Power Scourge is not one of them.

By the 37 keys of Tzeentch,We open the way for our brothers,
By the 1000 whispers of Slaanesh we call to them,
By the 12 plagues of Nurgle we fell their enemies,
And by the mighty axe of Khorne we cut open the world for them!

- Ritual of Summoning, Recited by Amphion and Zethus Dark Sorcerers of the Deimos Peninsula,Kronos


 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan






That's what I thought.....

You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Chaos space marine terminators get power weapons for free at no extra cost... not sure where your 12 point cost came from unless you are talking about a power fist.

But yes a Power Scourge is not something you could take as a power weapon since it isn't listed as one in the main rulebook under power weapons.
   
Made in au
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch





Perth

Types of power weapons: axes mauls swords and lances, THEY are the only types of "power weapon" based on model. i dont have the BRB page number, but its under the above types of power weapons heading. i pulled it up in my digital csm dex.

CSM 20,000 Pts
Daemons 4,000 (ish)
WoC over 10,000
6000+ Pts


 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

No. Scourges are not power weapons.

Power weapons are defined in the BRB.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Khaine's Wrath wrote:
First of all, I want it well documented that I think no. I'm asking on behalf of a friend. He played a new 40k player recently. He's just started with CSM. He took a terminator squad. He paid for a power weapon upgrade on each guy, and claimed that each power weapon was a power scourge.

Now I was under the impression that when you pay 12 points for a PW it allows you to select from the PW section in the rule book. And as a scourge costs a helbrute a great deal more than 12 points it doesn't seem logical.

What I'm after is written rules so I can prove it's not allowed rather than my very simple argument of 'no, of course that's not right'

My only argument at the moment is that if a unit can take a scourge, it specifically states it in their entry?


Possibly you have made a mistake, just checked the chaos codex and it is 12 points for a chain fist (Doubles your strength, gives you AP 2 and Armourbane). Is this what he bought? Regular power weapons come for free on chaos terminators.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: