Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/18 09:32:12
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Does an attack dealing 1 Instant Death wound deal an additional 1d3 wounds or is the 1d3 inflicted instead of the single wound?
Is the Gargantuan creature allowed to take FNP rolls against the 1d3 wounds?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/18 13:14:20
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Without dissecting the Rules involved, sorry don't have them on hand right now, I would lean towards an additional 1d3 from the instant death Rule. The original wound, with this rule attached to it, still exists unless it states to disregard the original wound and replace it with 1d3 wounds. If so, then it wouldn't be much of a question to bring to this forum. This leads me to conclude that the number of wounds suffered by the creature would be 1+1d3, which I believe is also on par with the Hull Point lost for super-heavy vehicles and the explode result which this Rule appears designed to emulate. The Feel No Pain is a very good question as I can see it going both ways: No feel no pain as the original wound was instant death Feel No Pain because the additional wounds lack the instant death rule Others want to throw in on that?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/04/18 16:25:19
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/18 13:59:00
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
"Any attack that normally inflicts Instant Death or says that the target model is removed from play inflicts D3 Wounds on a Gargantuan Creature or Flying Gargantuan Creature instead."
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/18 14:40:32
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Prince Raven, Thank you for posting the Rule as that does make it easier for me to dissect... or at least I thought it would have. I've encountered the interesting problem that could be the core of the issue the Original Poster encountered, leading to this thread, and that is with how the sentence is formatted. This 'Instead' could still be referring to the Instant Death Special Rule itself, as that could easily be the subject of the sentence. The Authors use of the the word attack at the start of the sentence, in such a reading, is because Instant Death can not be applied to an enemy model directly and it is usually an attack which does so. It is also quite possible to give it a strict reading, which would mean the entire attack is inflict 1d3 wounds and the original wound is discarded. Does lead to some interesting thoughts though: An activated force weapon would normally inflict instant death, but that requires an unsaved wound to be inflicted first, so what happens in the Catch 22 situation where that Wound is discarded? If I want to be 'that ******* guy' how can someone prevent me from replacing the entire attack, including To Hit and To Wound rolls, with just generating 1d3 wounds?
|
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2014/04/18 15:27:05
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/18 15:00:37
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
As far as fnp I would treat it exactly like aneternal warrior model. If I remember correctly there is a faq stating no fnp for models even if they have EW.
|
Never underestimate the Genestealers ability to sweeping advance EVERYTHING! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/18 16:13:53
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
|
I don't think it counts as instant death anymore. They're one to three individual wounds now.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
JinxDragon wrote:Prince Raven,
I've encountered the interesting problem that could be the core of the issue the Original Poster encountered, leading to this thread, and that is with how the sentence is formatted. This 'Instead' could still be referring to the Instant Death Special Rule itself, as that could easily be the subject of the sentence. The Authors use of the the word attack at the start of the sentence, in such a reading, is because Instant Death can not be applied to an enemy model directly and it is usually an attack which does so. It is also quite possible to give it a strict reading, which would mean the entire attack is inflict 1d3 wounds and the original wound is discarded.
An activated force weapon would normally inflict instant death, but that requires an unsaved wound to be inflicted first, so what happens in the Catch 22 situation where that Wound is discarded?
I'd honestly have them roll another die. They're guaranteed one wound with the possibility of up to two more. It's like if you got hit by Distort.
Edit: reroll was poor word choice, since you're not rerolling to wound. Just rolling a die to see how many wounds you'd do from the attack.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/18 16:18:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/18 16:24:32
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Unseeablething wrote:I don't think it counts as instant death anymore. They're one to three individual wounds now.
Whether or not it kills the model outright, the attack still has the ID special rule and as such denies FNP.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/18 18:37:53
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
U cant roll fnp against instant death. No matter if charakter or model is immune to instant death.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/18 20:58:44
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
PrinceRaven wrote:"Any attack that normally inflicts Instant Death or says that the target model is removed from play inflicts D3 Wounds on a Gargantuan Creature or Flying Gargantuan Creature instead."
I read this as "instead of inflicting an instant death wound, D3 wounds (that are not instant death) are inflicted." Meaning FNP would be taken against them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/18 21:39:46
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Leonus wrote: PrinceRaven wrote:"Any attack that normally inflicts Instant Death or says that the target model is removed from play inflicts D3 Wounds on a Gargantuan Creature or Flying Gargantuan Creature instead."
I read this as "instead of inflicting an instant death wound, D3 wounds (that are not instant death) are inflicted." Meaning FNP would be taken against them.
That is how I interpreted this as well. Because it cannot inflict instant death (as it would remove the GC), it does d3 wounds to it instead, which would allow for FNP saves against those D3 wounds.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 04:57:57
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
|
Happyjew wrote:Unseeablething wrote:I don't think it counts as instant death anymore. They're one to three individual wounds now.
Whether or not it kills the model outright, the attack still has the ID special rule and as such denies FNP.
Leonus wrote: PrinceRaven wrote:"Any attack that normally inflicts Instant Death or says that the target model is removed from play inflicts D3 Wounds on a Gargantuan Creature or Flying Gargantuan Creature instead."
I read this as "instead of inflicting an instant death wound, D3 wounds (that are not instant death) are inflicted." Meaning FNP would be taken against them.
That's why I said it the way I did, it looks like it loses the instant death in lieu of gaining more wounds. That way you can use the FNP. The Hierophant is said to be nearly impossible to take down, playing it with the FNP would show it well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 08:42:25
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Clearly the d3 wounds cannot be Instant Death, because if they were they would inflict d3 wounds instead.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 09:40:02
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
So is it a D3 and + 1 for the original wound or just the d3?
|
01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 09:58:07
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
The d3 wounds are instead of the original wound, so only d3.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 11:46:13
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
PrinceRaven wrote:"Any attack that normally inflicts Instant Death or says that the target model is removed from play inflicts D3 Wounds on a Gargantuan Creature or Flying Gargantuan Creature instead."
This does not affect the fact that you cannot take FNP against an attack that would cause instant death. EW do not get a bonus because they can't be killed instantly.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 12:02:56
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
... Que?
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 12:10:31
Subject: Two questions on Instant Death and Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Was addressing OP, not disagreeing with you.
Sorry.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|