| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/10 17:55:54
Subject: Simple drop pod questions
|
 |
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos
|
My brother and I were playing today, and one of his drop pods scattered directly onto another drop pod that was already in play, and we weren't sure how to play it. From what I could gather, since you can't move through your own models, that counts as landing in impassable terrain, and the pod would be lost, but I wasn't sure. A second question that came up was if a Librarian can use FOD while in HtH. Again, we assumed that since it was treated as a shooting attack, the model couldn't not use it. Thanks for shedding any light on these.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/10 18:01:54
Subject: RE: Simple drop pod questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Los Angeles
|
The rules don't cover the drop pod question. Most people play it as an enemy model, and so you move the drop pod back until it's 1" away. But that's still just a house rule. The rules don't cover it, but that's how it's typically played.
|
"The last known instance of common sense happened at a GT. A player tried to use the 'common sense' argument vs. Mauleed to justify his turbo-boosted bikes getting a saving throw vs. Psycannons. The player's resulting psychic death scream erased common sense from the minds of 40k players everywhere. " - Ozymandias |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/10 18:13:07
Subject: RE:Simple drop pod questions
|
 |
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos
|
I just read through the FAQ sheet, and saw that my question is a mystery. What is the rule if a deepstriking unit (not a pod) scatters into a friendly model? I was staggered to re-read the Deep Strike rules, and find them very breezily written. I seem to remember them being tighter under 3rd. Ed. From a "how to play it in friendly play" standpoint, I'd agree that pods are smart enough to not run into each other. From a strict RAW standpoint, I'd be inclined to rule that it's impassable terrain, and thus it's destroyed. Of course, that makes it far more dangerous to pod into play. I know this is a very dead horse to beat, but when they playtested 4th Ed, did this simply never come up? I mean, you play 3 or 4 games and it happens, yet no rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/10 18:16:20
Subject: RE: Simple drop pod questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Los Angeles
|
From a "how to play it in friendly play" standpoint, I'd agree that pods are smart enough to not run into each other. From a strict RAW standpoint, I'd be inclined to rule that it's impassable terrain, and thus it's destroyed. Of course, that makes it far more dangerous to pod into play.
Again, the rules just don't cover it. It's not impassable terrain. It's not enemy models. It's not anything specified. If this happens in a game, you have literally no rules to follow.
|
"The last known instance of common sense happened at a GT. A player tried to use the 'common sense' argument vs. Mauleed to justify his turbo-boosted bikes getting a saving throw vs. Psycannons. The player's resulting psychic death scream erased common sense from the minds of 40k players everywhere. " - Ozymandias |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/11 00:44:06
Subject: RE: Simple drop pod questions
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
Since it's 'drop pod assault,' you can't apply the deepstrike rules.
Drop pods do stop within 1" of impassible terrain I believe - just not the board edge.
As far as I'm aware this topic has been over a dozen times and rendered indecipherable, so the large portion of people just play it as 'stop by the minimum distance to avoid being harmed' just like everyone else. Since you can by right up next to your own troops, we don't usually require it to be 1" away around here.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|