Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/27 19:24:12
Subject: Can Death Company Deepstrike in a BA Dedicated Transport LR?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So the 6th ed rule says that Deep Strike requires that every model in the unit must have the rule in order to DS. Death Company only have the USR when they are wearing jetpacks. Does a dedicated transports USR give the unit within DS? Drop Pod Assault is extended to units embarked thus giving DS to Space Marines in a Drop Pod, but I'm not sure it's the same with DC and the DSing LR.
Thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/27 19:31:10
Subject: Can Death Company Deepstrike in a BA Dedicated Transport LR?
|
 |
Kelne
|
Transported unit isn't "joined" to its transport, the unit inside doesn't have to ahve the DS rule for its transport to DS.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/27 19:36:07
Subject: Re:Can Death Company Deepstrike in a BA Dedicated Transport LR?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Do you have a page where it says how this might work? DS in 6th edition is really clear. Thanks!
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Just for clarity, I've pasted the glossary rule from the iBooks BRB
“In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike special rule and the unit must start the game in reserve. When placing the unit in reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike reserve).”
Excerpt From: Games Workshop. “Warhammer 40,000: The Rules.” Games Workshop, 2013. iBooks. https://itun.es/us/o8XiO.l
As the models in the unit lack Deep Strike, why would it be conferred? I have no problem with the DC getting the LR and even being in reserve, I can't find anything that says that Deep Strike is conferred on the occupants of the BA Land Raider.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/27 19:41:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/27 19:50:29
Subject: Can Death Company Deepstrike in a BA Dedicated Transport LR?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
all models in the land raider unit have deep strike because the LR is only ever a single model unit. Embarking passangers doesn't count as being apart of the land raider unit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/27 20:35:10
Subject: Re:Can Death Company Deepstrike in a BA Dedicated Transport LR?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
YakManDoo wrote:As the models in the unit lack Deep Strike, why would it be conferred?
You might notice that marines using Drop Pods also lack Deep Strike themself...
And they don't need it. You have permission to have them embarked on a transport in Reserves, and the transport can then enter the game using whatever means it has.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/27 20:45:00
Subject: Re:Can Death Company Deepstrike in a BA Dedicated Transport LR?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
That is where the problem lies. Drop Pods explicitly confer the Drop Pod Assault rule on all embarked units. The same cannot be said for the Deep Strike Land Raider in the BA codex. Here is the quote from the C: SM Drop Pod entry:
Drop Pod Assault
“Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in reserve and must enter play using the Deep Strike rules. At the beginning of your first turn, choose half of your Drop Pods (rounding up) to make a Drop Pod Assault. Units making a Drop Pod Assault arrive on their controlling player’s first turn. The arrival of the remaining Drop Pods is rolled for as normal. A unit that Deep Strikes via Drop Pod cannot charge in the turn it arrives.”
Excerpt From: Games Workshop. “Codex: Space Marines (Enhanced Edition).” Games Workshop, 2013. iBooks. https://itun.es/us/D18EP.l
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/27 20:52:13
Subject: Re:Can Death Company Deepstrike in a BA Dedicated Transport LR?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
YakManDoo wrote:That is where the problem lies. Drop Pods explicitly confer the Drop Pod Assault rule on all embarked units. The same cannot be said for the Deep Strike Land Raider in the BA codex. Here is the quote from the C: SM Drop Pod entry:
Drop Pod Assault
“Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in reserve and must enter play using the Deep Strike rules. At the beginning of your first turn, choose half of your Drop Pods (rounding up) to make a Drop Pod Assault. Units making a Drop Pod Assault arrive on their controlling player’s first turn. The arrival of the remaining Drop Pods is rolled for as normal. A unit that Deep Strikes via Drop Pod cannot charge in the turn it arrives.”
Excerpt From: Games Workshop. “Codex: Space Marines (Enhanced Edition).” Games Workshop, 2013. iBooks. https://itun.es/us/D18EP.l
So SM have permission. Where is the BA/ DA/ SW permission?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/27 20:59:59
Subject: Re:Can Death Company Deepstrike in a BA Dedicated Transport LR?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
You are right! Here's the DA version:
Drop Pod Assault (Dark Angels)
“Drop Pods must enter play using the Deep Strike rules. At the beginning of your first turn, choose half of your Drop Pods (rounding up) to make a ‘Drop Pod Assault’. Units making a Drop Pod Assault arrive on their controlling player’s first turn. The arrival of the remaining Drop Pods is rolled for as normal. A unit that Deep Strikes via Drop Pod cannot charge in the turn it arrives.”
Excerpt From: Games Workshop. “Codex: Dark Angels.” Games Workshop, 2013. iBooks. https://itun.es/us/oLrXI.l
Drop Pod Assault (Space Marines)
“Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in reserve and must enter play using the Deep Strike rules. At the beginning of your first turn, choose half of your Drop Pods (rounding up) to make a Drop Pod Assault. Units making a Drop Pod Assault arrive on their controlling player’s first turn. The arrival of the remaining Drop Pods is rolled for as normal. A unit that Deep Strikes via Drop Pod cannot charge in the turn it arrives.”
Excerpt From: Games Workshop. “Codex: Space Marines (Enhanced Edition).” Games Workshop, 2013. iBooks. https://itun.es/us/D18EP.l
Drop Pod Assault (Blood Angels)
(This one is similar to the DA book lacking the "and units embarked upon them" phrase.)
Automatically Appended Next Post: It looks like maybe it got more explicit from DA to SM. Thanks to all for chiming in. I'm not sure it's possible to answer the question without interpretation on either side.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/27 21:01:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/27 21:05:20
Subject: Can Death Company Deepstrike in a BA Dedicated Transport LR?
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
YakManDoo, any unit in an DSing LR for BA are in the LR. They are not DSing on their own, they are inside the LR, and then disembark from the DSed land raider.
In the BA codex the LR deep strike special rules state "Deep Strike. A unit that Deep Strikes via a Land Raider
cannot assault in the turn it arrives."(pg37)
The DPA rules don't say that "deep strike is conferred to units arriving in a drop pod". It states that the DROP PODS make the assault. Same logic applies to the LR deep strike special rule. Both insinuate, neither gives the models within the transports the rule. Thus, you are using the transports rules, as you always do until the units disembark.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/27 21:06:17
Subject: Can Death Company Deepstrike in a BA Dedicated Transport LR?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Just keep in mind what CrownAxe said;
All the models in the Land Raiders Unit have deep strike, because only the Land Raider exists within the Unit.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/27 21:27:37
Subject: Re:Can Death Company Deepstrike in a BA Dedicated Transport LR?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thanks, Troa. The page 37 Deep Strike rule ont eh LR makes it explicit. Not to diminish the other answers, but explicit wins the day where I live. Thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
|