Switch Theme:

Question about embarking and disembarking  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





Hey guys,

A couple of questions regarding transports, for this lets use the Eldar Falcon as the base as it has a rear access door.

First Question
Is it legal to move the tank, pivot it 180 degrees, disembark and then pivot the tank 180 degrees again so that the front armour is facing the enemy?

Second question
Is it legal to pivot the tank 180 degrees, disembark, then pivot the tank again so that a second squad can move and embark, then pivot the tank a 3rd time and move off?

Pretty sure this is all OK but just want another opinion.


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You cannot pivot or move after you embark / disembark IF the vehicle moved before either action.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

1. not legal
2. not legal

If the tank moves (to include pivoting ont eh spot) and the unit then disembarks or embarks, the tank gets no further movement. page 78/79 main rules

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/06 12:34:38


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Don, you just contradicted yourself on #1.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Sorry, I read his post as illegal, will edit.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





Ah thanks for that......we have been doing it wrong as they say lol



Automatically Appended Next Post:
And more importantly the last game we had in our campaign would probably have gone very differently, as my opponent had to get his phoenix lord to my table edge, which he did by doing the 2nd example.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/06 12:37:14



 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Daston wrote:

First Question
Is it legal to move the tank, pivot it 180 degrees, disembark and then pivot the tank 180 degrees again so that the front armor is facing the enemy?


If you bought vectored engines you could move you falcon so the rear faces the direction of your enemy, disembark and battle focus away from the tank, then shoot the falcon turret mounted guns since they have a 360 degree firing arc, then after shooting pivot using the vectored engines so your front armor is now facing the enemy.
   
Made in gb
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





Do you have to do it that way? So you couldnt pivot straight after disembarking and fire the catapults as well?

Also do vector engines allow multiple pivots or just the one?


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You cannot move/pivot after disembarking if the vehicle already moved. Vector engines let you pivot after shooting.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Pivoting doesn't count as movement for vehicles, though it does need to be done in the movement phase.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
Pivoting doesn't count as movement for vehicles, though it does need to be done in the movement phase.


You are almost correct. Pivoting does count as movement for purposes of embarking and/or disembarking. See pages 78 and 79 of the main rules.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: