Switch Theme:

assaulting from the storm raven  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






can a unit assault from a storm raven the turn it comes in? or does the storm raven have to be hovering to assault from it?

2500  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





You cannot assault the turn you arrive from Reserves.
Nor can you assault after using the special disembark rules from a Storm Raven.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine




Toronto-Ont

Even if you could assault from reserves, the actual model of the SR doesn't allow you to move it on the table in under 6" (this was a problem in 5th where you couldn't come on from reserves and shoot everything) The model (regardless of base placement or model placement) has to move over 6" to get onto the board.

Move over 6" means you can't disembark. (Skies of Blood/fury/whatever are a seperate rule that overrides this)

skycapt44 wrote:
FYI optimus is the cheesiest player I know


DT:80S++++G+++M++B++IPw40k96#+D++A++++/mWD179R+++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





 theemporerprotectsnone wrote:
can a unit assault from a storm raven the turn it comes in? or does the storm raven have to be hovering to assault from it?


No, has to be hovering to assault out of

3000
4000 
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator






 WrentheFaceless wrote:
 theemporerprotectsnone wrote:
can a unit assault from a storm raven the turn it comes in? or does the storm raven have to be hovering to assault from it?


No, has to be hovering to assault out of


It doesn't have to be hovering, just disembark before moving at the start of the turn after it arrives, which means turn three assault if you're lucky.

   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Tarthenal wrote:
 WrentheFaceless wrote:
 theemporerprotectsnone wrote:
can a unit assault from a storm raven the turn it comes in? or does the storm raven have to be hovering to assault from it?


No, has to be hovering to assault out of


It doesn't have to be hovering, just disembark before moving at the start of the turn after it arrives, which means turn three assault if you're lucky.


No, it has to be hovering because the raven cannot move more than 6" afterward.

This is true of all transports. You can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6". It is written in past tense, but the whole rule is written in past tense.




This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 Tarthenal wrote:
 WrentheFaceless wrote:
 theemporerprotectsnone wrote:
can a unit assault from a storm raven the turn it comes in? or does the storm raven have to be hovering to assault from it?


No, has to be hovering to assault out of


It doesn't have to be hovering, just disembark before moving at the start of the turn after it arrives, which means turn three assault if you're lucky.


No, it has to be hovering because the raven cannot move more than 6" afterward.

This is true of all transports. You can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6". It is written in past tense, but the whole rule is written in past tense.





I think they're trying to say you can assault using skies of blood/grey/we it is in the book in question. The answer is no, because you can't assault after deepstriking, even if you can assault out of the transport. (and SoB is deepstriking)

 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Tarthenal wrote:
 WrentheFaceless wrote:
 theemporerprotectsnone wrote:
can a unit assault from a storm raven the turn it comes in? or does the storm raven have to be hovering to assault from it?


No, has to be hovering to assault out of
It doesn't have to be hovering, just disembark before moving at the start of the turn after it arrives, which means turn three assault if you're lucky.
From the Errata:

Page 81 – Hover ‘Type’
Change the first sentence of the second paragraph to “A Flyer with the Hover type must declare whether it is going to Zoom or Hover before it moves, and before any embarked models disembark, each Movement phase.”
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 Tarthenal wrote:
 WrentheFaceless wrote:
 theemporerprotectsnone wrote:
can a unit assault from a storm raven the turn it comes in? or does the storm raven have to be hovering to assault from it?


No, has to be hovering to assault out of


It doesn't have to be hovering, just disembark before moving at the start of the turn after it arrives, which means turn three assault if you're lucky.


No, it has to be hovering because the raven cannot move more than 6" afterward.

This is true of all transports. You can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6". It is written in past tense, but the whole rule is written in past tense.


Any vehicle can make a normal move after a unit disembarks, it is not restricted to a 6 inch move. (though flyers can only hover as grendel083 has quoted.

"If the vehicle had not moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle can then move normally." (79)

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: