Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 11:23:57
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
I'm attempting to Fit inquisitors in my list. As standard inquisitors go, it wont work as they cannot embark upon my drop pods. So, I can take the same models from the grey knight list. This solves another problem as I can take a storm raven. The issue is I would want to start the inquisitors on board the storm raven. Can I do this as it isn't strictly a dedicated transport but a fast attack choice? And is there any guidance considering the storm raven has to start in reserve as a flier.
|
You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 11:26:42
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
Schofield Barracks Hawaii
|
Khaine's Wrath wrote:I'm attempting to Fit inquisitors in my list. As standard inquisitors go, it wont work as they cannot embark upon my drop pods. So, I can take the same models from the grey knight list. This solves another problem as I can take a storm raven. The issue is I would want to start the inquisitors on board the storm raven. Can I do this as it isn't strictly a dedicated transport but a fast attack choice? And is there any guidance considering the storm raven has to start in reserve as a flier.
Yeah the raven does have to start in reserve and you can start your unit embarked on it if im not mistaken but they will be in reserve also (obviously). At least i believe that's correct.
|
Into the fires of battle, unto the anvil of war!
DS:90S++G++MB-I+Pw40k11+D++A+++/fWDR+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 11:38:31
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Dedicated transports have a restriction that only the unit it was bought for can ride in it. Non-dedicated transports do not have this restriction, so any unit that can fit in it's transport capacity can start the game in it, including being in reserves with it.
Note that as the flyer (and therefore the unit inside) must start in reserve, they do not count towards the reserve limit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 11:39:22
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Awesome, thank you.
|
You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 13:58:19
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
The main question is whether your Inquisitor is an independent character or not. If the Inquisitor is an independent character then it can join the GK unit and be deployed inside the transport. (BRB pg 78, the box for Dedicated Transports). The GK codex lists Inquisitors as IC's, I'm pretty sure they kept that for the Inquisition codex. The restriction that Quanar described is only for deployment. A Dedicated Transport can carry any friendly units (even ones not purchased for it) AFTER deployment has occurred. During deployment the transport can carry the unit it was purchased for plus any attached ICs
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/12 13:58:57
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 14:03:46
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
clively wrote:
If the Inquisitor is an independent character then it can join the GK unit and be deployed inside the transport. ( BRB pg 78, the box for Dedicated Transports). The GK codex lists Inquisitors as IC's, I'm pretty sure they kept that for the Inquisition codex.
A model may only embark on a transport from its own detachment. While the allies rules don't say that exactly, that's what it boils down to.
So no INQ Inquisitor in the Stromraven, but you may still take a GK Inq.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 14:05:18
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The storm raven isn't a dedicated transport at all so as others have said you can start any unit it can carry in it, but I'd also like to point out the inquisitor is an IC can be joined to a unit inside that units dedicated transport as long as there is a seat for him in the transport and(depending on which side of the fence you are on) if that unit is from the same codex.
If all you are trying to do is get the inquisitor aboard a flyer before the start of the game, you can use a henchman war band with a dedicated transport in the form of a Valkyrie.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 14:10:35
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:A model may only embark on a transport from its own detachment. While the allies rules don't say that exactly, that's what it boils down to.
Not only did the OP mention using a GK Inq so your statement is irrelevant, your summation of the rules isn't anywhere near "what it boils down to".
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 14:10:49
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:clively wrote:
If the Inquisitor is an independent character then it can join the GK unit and be deployed inside the transport. ( BRB pg 78, the box for Dedicated Transports). The GK codex lists Inquisitors as IC's, I'm pretty sure they kept that for the Inquisition codex.
A model may only embark on a transport from its own detachment. While the allies rules don't say that exactly, that's what it boils down to.
So no INQ Inquisitor in the Stromraven, but you may still take a GK Inq.
Correct, BB may not embark in an allied transport. However, as it currently stands, when a IC joins a BB unit it is treated as "part of the unit for all rules purposes" ( pg 39). This has been debated quite a bit, and I'm hoping is one of the things modified in the next couple of weeks.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 14:53:02
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
rigeld2 wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:A model may only embark on a transport from its own detachment. While the allies rules don't say that exactly, that's what it boils down to.
Not only did the OP mention using a GK Inq so your statement is irrelevant, your summation of the rules isn't anywhere near "what it boils down to".
I was including cliveley's comment in my post, and he referenced C:I. So that's relevant.
And it is what it boils down to, we just happen to disagree on the reduction process and what needs to get boiled.
I think the Allies rules are more specific, you think the IC rules are more specific. Starting that argument again in this thread isn't productive. The OP now knows that there are two opposing interpretations of the rule, and can deal with it how he likes.
Your statement, while relevant, was mostly useless; as was mine.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 15:03:07
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:I think the Allies rules are more specific, you think the IC rules are more specific. Starting that argument again in this thread isn't productive. The OP now knows that there are two opposing interpretations of the rule, and can deal with it how he likes.
You've, again, failed to understand the argument.
The allies rules being more specific means nothing. Literally. I'll even concede that point for the sake of argument because it doesn't change the outcome at all.
Which means that even with literally every interpretation going your way, your assertions aren't correct.
What it actually boils down to is that the IC rules require you to treat the IC as a member of the unit and not a unit by itself, and the Allies rules only putting a restriction on units.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 15:15:45
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
rigeld2 wrote: What it actually boils down to is that the IC rules require you to treat the IC as a member of the unit and not a unit by itself, and the Allies rules only putting a restriction on units. And I think that outcome utterly negates the point of the rule that specifies ICs cannot embark in an allied transport. If they can join a BB unit, and THEN embark in a BB transport, then the only point of that rule is to forbid lone ICs (or groups of allied ICs) from embarking in an allied transport. "Haha! I can finally give Creed a SM Land Raider to tool about inside, all by himself and completely unsupported! He's gonna speed across the field and assault the crap out of those Daemonettes!" "No you can't, see this rule in the Allies section?" "Noooo! My master plan!!!!" That's just a very rare circumstance that there doesn't seem to be a real need to restrict, either tactically or fluffily. And since GW at least TRIES to write rules that make sense and do things, there must be another interpretation.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/05/12 15:16:16
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 15:17:40
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
What it actually boils down to is that the IC rules require you to treat the IC as a member of the unit and not a unit by itself, and the Allies rules only putting a restriction on units.
And I think that outcome utterly negates the point of the rule that specifies ICs cannot embark in an allied transport.
There is no such rule. Anywhere. You've invented or poorly paraphrased an actual rule. Please adhere to the actual rules in the rulebook instead of making things up.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 15:37:18
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Yay, this again. First sentence in the paragraph tells you that battlke brothers are friendly units. The bullet points are all examples of what "This Means"; "this" being Battle brothers are friendly units. IC rules state that the IC becomes a member of the unit joined for all rules purposes. So a Space marine Tac squad with an attached Lord Commissar is not, a "Space marine unit with a battle brother attached to it" in regards to those examples or unit classification, it is simply a Space marine Tactical Squad(the exact same is true when a Chaplain joins the Tac squad). Since it is a Space Marine unit trying to embark on a Space Marine transport; you have no Battle brothers as defined for those bullet points attempting to embark on an allied transport. p.s. One of these days i will get the wording correct to get my point across. Also in less than 2 weeks the whole rule may change.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/12 15:39:01
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 15:39:56
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
rigeld2 wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
What it actually boils down to is that the IC rules require you to treat the IC as a member of the unit and not a unit by itself, and the Allies rules only putting a restriction on units.
And I think that outcome utterly negates the point of the rule that specifies ICs cannot embark in an allied transport.
There is no such rule. Anywhere. You've invented or poorly paraphrased an actual rule. Please adhere to the actual rules in the rulebook instead of making things up.
Thank you for helping me understand my shortcomings. Because of your command, I will definitely cease making things up right this instant! Your words have helped me greatly in playing 40k.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 15:43:00
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
What it actually boils down to is that the IC rules require you to treat the IC as a member of the unit and not a unit by itself, and the Allies rules only putting a restriction on units.
And I think that outcome utterly negates the point of the rule that specifies ICs cannot embark in an allied transport.
There is no such rule. Anywhere. You've invented or poorly paraphrased an actual rule. Please adhere to the actual rules in the rulebook instead of making things up.
Thank you for helping me understand my shortcomings. Because of your command, I will definitely cease making things up right this instant! Your words have helped me greatly in playing 40k.
Command? It was a request - hence the "Please".
Since all you've contributed with this post is an attempt to mock I'm assuming you can't cite the rule you asserted exists - is that correct?
I mean - I'll apologize instantly if you actually can cite a rule saying what you said - one that specifies ICs cannot embark on an allied transport.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 16:16:21
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Ok. OP here, a And wanting some clarification. My decision to take grey knights was that I had originally taken inquisitors from C:I and had it pointed out to me that they weren't allowed to climb in the drop pods with my sternguard? Are you suggesting that this was wrong?
In fairness I've now gained a storm raven considering I had NO anti air. But this might make me reconsider the grey knight selection.....,or is this one of those debated rules that's never settled?
How do tournements tend to play it?
|
You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 16:34:18
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
@Khaine: If the Inquisitor from C:I is allowed to join a unit of Sternguard (which I'm pretty sure they can do) - then they can ride in the drop pod with the Sternguard. Every tournament I've seen so far plays it this way. The concept of what happens when an independent character joins a BB unit has been debated quite a bit. The majority opinion is that the IC rule means that the BB restriction goes out the window. That said, I would find it absolutely laughable if this isn't addressed by the new rule book release. It has been stated that the allies section is being redone and we've seen glimpses of the new rules showing that all sorts of stuff with regards to army construction is changing. So, UNLESS you are going to be attending a tournament within the next 2 weeks then just sit back and wait for the rules to change. If you are attending one soon then, yes, the Inquistor gets to ride with the sternguard. Personally, I wouldn't buy another codex or model until I see the new book.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/05/12 16:35:40
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 16:39:17
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Thank you. I've started a new thread on this debate. Any clue as to the direction in which the new rule book will sway?
|
You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 16:40:31
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
We don't have enough information yet.
A bunch of us are hoping that BB goes away or, at the very least, is severely curtailed due to the ease with which you can create units that are almost unkillable.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/12 17:12:28
Subject: Grey Knight Storm Ravens as dedicated Tansports.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
NO. NOT this again. You're off-topic; knock it off.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
|