Switch Theme:

FMC's, grounding tests... and jink... um... lost?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Nevada

Ok so I run nids,
I have some flyrants... and a harpy.
this combo of rules doesnt make much sense

HOW do I use jink on an FMC?
It seems pointless to give us BOTH of those rules....

When I am HIT (not even wounded... wtf mate) I have to take a grounding test.
1/3 of those I will fail (statistically speaking, sometimes it feels like 100% lol)
so I wont even be able to use jink right?

do I have that right? I can only use jink, if I am swooping (or whatever fast movement is called) if I am HIT but do not fail my grounding test, then it has to WOUND me, THEN if I need to take my jink against the weapon I can?

Anything will die if you can stab it enough. 
   
Made in gb
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor





UK

You take your grounding test from the unit after the hit/wound has been resolves to my knowledge. So the save can indeed be incredibly useful.

You get hit by lascannon

He Wounds

You opt to Jink and thus get a save

Pass said save you dont take a wound but need a grounding test.

Fail you take a wound AND need a grounding test

Soon his foes would learn that the only thing more dangerous than a savage three hundred pound brute is a savage three hundred pound brute with a plan - Ork Codex

30K Imperial Fist Progress
Tale of 6 Gamers - 30K

I've recently started taking on commissions, if you'd like to talk a project over feel free to PM me here, or find me at:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BasiliskStudios
Email: Basilisk.Studios@yahoo.co.uk 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The grounding test is after you resolved the shooting attack. So, two different situations:

1. Pathfinders shoot Markerlights at an FMC. At least 1 hits. As Markerlights do not cause Wounds, no saves are taken, and you resolve the Grounding test.

2. A squad of Dark Reapers shoot at an FMC. At least 1 hits, and at least 1 Wounds. FMC declares Dive, and gains the Jink special rule, giving him a cover save against the Wounds. After resolving the Wounds, the FMC resolves the Grounding test.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Nevada

hmm I dont have my rule book on me but I could have sworn I take a grounding test if I am even HIT. It doesnt HAVE to wound.
a bunch of marines firing bolters in to the air at me, one gets lucky and tags me on a 6 BAM i could indeed fall from the sky. regardless of if it wounded me...





Automatically Appended Next Post:
hmm ok so

I am hit, resolve the wound,

I AM wounded, Jink Save, STILL take grounding test
I am wounded Jink fails, STILL take grounding test?
I am hit NOT wounded no jink needed, STILL take grounding test?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/14 20:53:16


Anything will die if you can stab it enough. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Shadowmyth515 wrote:
hmm I dont have my rule book on me but I could have sworn I take a grounding test if I am even HIT. It doesnt HAVE to wound.
a bunch of marines firing bolters in to the air at me, one gets lucky and tags me on a 6 BAM i could indeed fall from the sky. regardless of if it wounded me...


If you get hit, you have to resolve the Grounding test, however, the test itself is not resolved until after resolving the unit's shooting.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Shadowmyth515 wrote:
hmm I dont have my rule book on me but I could have sworn I take a grounding test if I am even HIT. It doesnt HAVE to wound.
a bunch of marines firing bolters in to the air at me, one gets lucky and tags me on a 6 BAM i could indeed fall from the sky. regardless of if it wounded me...

That's correct.

But you still don't roll the grounding test until after you've determined the wound - so you can still Jink for a cover save to see if you take the ound.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Nevada

awesome OK ty.

Anything will die if you can stab it enough. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Happyjew wrote:
2. A squad of Dark Reapers shoot at an FMC. At least 1 hits, and at least 1 Wounds. FMC declares Dive, and gains the Jink special rule, giving him a cover save against the Wounds. After resolving the Wounds, the FMC resolves the Grounding test.


Off topic but Dark Reapers ignore Jink saves, so no point in declaring a dive/Jink for FMC and flyers respectively.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Kaela_Mensha_Khaine wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
2. A squad of Dark Reapers shoot at an FMC. At least 1 hits, and at least 1 Wounds. FMC declares Dive, and gains the Jink special rule, giving him a cover save against the Wounds. After resolving the Wounds, the FMC resolves the Grounding test.


Off topic but Dark Reapers ignore Jink saves, so no point in declaring a dive/Jink for FMC and flyers respectively.


Yeah I forgot about that. Poor example. Though my point still stands. And as a minor nit-pick (just to return the favour of course), Flyers do not Jink, they Evade, which like Diving gives them the Jink special rule.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Next edition you only take one groundhog test per phase, as well it has to wound not just hit.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Well grounding rather then groundhog lol

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/15 19:22:36


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: